Country Profiles
- Country StudiesWeb resource provided by the Library of Congress. For the versions of the print editions of this material published between 1986 and 1998.
- CIA World FactbookWebsite maintained by the CIA.
Africa
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowExplore a multidisciplinary collection with extensive coverage of Africa and African studies, as well as information on a wide variety of topics from Africa-based publications and organizations. This collection contains citations for scholarly sources, including dissertations, research reports, and monographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Some full text.
Asia
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch western-language journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971 to present. Citations only.
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowExplore primary documents related to the political and social interactions of Westerners in nineteenth century Asia. This collection consists principally of United States and British diplomatic documents, but also contains documents from missionary organizations and journals on socio-economic topics. It is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: 1790-1949, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access documents on topics relating to Japanese internal affairs in the 1930s and during World War II, including: politics, the rise of Bolshevism and radicalism, militarism, the Sino-Japanese war, trade and tariffs, social control, labor development and unrest, emigration, war, military, armament, economics, industry, trade, and the affects of the nuclear bombing of Hiroshima. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1930-1949, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access primary source documents that review U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyze the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1989-1993, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from every issue of Japan's major newspaper, The Yomiuri Shimbun. This collection has four parts: 1) The Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section (1874-1989), 2) The Heisei Era section (September 1986 onwards), The Japan News (September 1989 onwards), and 4) The Contemporary Who's Who, with searchable biographical data and articles on prominent individuals. It includes photos, images and advertisements. Search in Japanese or English. English versions of modern articles are available. Coverage: 1874 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
Europe
- Central and Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) This link opens in a new windowExplore multidisciplinary, multilingual articles pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. Subjects covered include business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, literature, history and sociology. Coverage: 2000 to present. Full text.
- ABSEEES Online (The American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies) This link opens in a new windowAccess resources on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1989 to present. Full text.
- EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) This link opens in a new windowSearch citations to scholarly articles, books, etc, relating to Eastern Europe. The cited materials were published in the following West European countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. Coverage: 1991-2007. Citations only.
- Europe: Portals to the WorldWeb resources organized by country from the Library of Congress.
Latin America
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for English and non-English materials on Latin America, covering topics in both the social sciences and humanities. Coverage: 1935 to present. Citations only.
- HAPI Online This link opens in a new windowSearch journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, since the late 1960s. The journals in this index cover political, economic, and social issues, as well as the arts and humanities. Coverage: late 1960s to present. Some full text.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowThis database is being discontinued by the publisher and will no longer be available after June 30, 2024
Access historical sources and contemporary scholarship on Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection includes peer-reviewed journals, news sources, maps, statistics, audio, video and more. Coverage: varies by titles, contains primary sources. Some full text.
Middle East
- Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access original documents revealing the workings of colonial administration and British diplomacy toward Israel and the Arab states, from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office and War Office, as well as Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1917-1970, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access original documents revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil, and arms dealing, from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office and War Office, as well as Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1914-1974, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs, business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events, and archaeology. Coverage: mostly 1900s to present. Citations only.
- Middle East Military Event Data, 1949-1969: ICPSRThis data collection provides detailed documentation of approximately 3,800 events: physical conflict interactions between Israel and each of the bordering Arab nations, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, and Iraq, in the period 1949-1969.
- Middle East Political Events Data, 1979-1995: ICPSRThis study is a collection of machine-coded events using the coding scheme employed in BEHAVIORAL CORRELATES OF WAR, 1816-1975 (ICPSR 8606) (BCOW) to create a continuous time series of data on interstate interaction covering the Levant area (countries bordering on the eastern Mediterranean sea).
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes The Contemporary Middle East, a documentary history. Covers key events that have shaped the region since World War I. Searches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources. Coverage: 1915-present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Intergovernmental Organizations
An IGO is an organization composed primarily of sovereign states, or of other intergovernmental organizations. IGOs are established by treaty or other agreement that acts as a charter creating the group.
Non-Governmental Organizations
A non-governmental organization (NGO) is any nonprofit, voluntary citizens' group which is organized on a local, national, or international level. Task-oriented and driven by people with a common interest, NGOs perform a variety of service and humanitarian functions, bring citizen concerns to governments, advocate and monitor policies, and encourage political participation through provision of information.
Think Tanks
A think tank is a research institute or organization employed to solve complex problems or predict or plan future developments, as in military, political, or social areas.