Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Primary Sources: Finding Primary Sources in Databases and Finding Newspaper Articles

Primary Sources in Databases

The Dickinson College library provides access to databases that contain nothing but primary sources.

  • Access the Databases list from the left column of the library’s website:
  • Once on the databases page, select the click on the drop down menu for "Search by Format Type" and select "Archival and Primary Source Collections."
  • You will see a list of databases that provide direct access to historical and contemporary primary sources. Please read the descriptions carefully to make sure the databases cover the correct subject and time periods for your research project.
  • Be sure to check this list periodically, as we sometimes add new databases to our collection.

Newspaper Articles

Also see our Newspapers and Newspaper Articles Research guide.

  • Access the Databases list from the left column of the library’s website:
  • Once on the databases page, select the click on the drop down menu for "Search by Format Type" and select "Newspaper Collection."
  • You will see a list of databases that provide direct access to historical and current newspaper articles.
  • Be sure to check this list periodically, as we sometimes add new databases to our collection.