Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Works Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of Islam and the Islamic world. This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Coverage: Varied. Mostly Full-Text.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Islam and qur'anic studies. Coverage: 6 volumes. Full-Text.
Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American, and European subject specialists. Full-Text.
General Reference Online
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and more. Is one of the broadest single sources for beginning research on any topic. Includes full text multimedia encyclopedia articles, country statistics and comparisons, timelines, bibliographies, and links to journal articles and web sites. Interactive features allow you to create your own workspace to save and share your research. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.
Country Studies / Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Coverage: Current. Full-Text.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A new and updated edition of this multivolume set -- the first comprehensive new edition in almost 40 years. Containing material from hundreds of highly distinguished contributors representing the world's top universities and institutions, the second edition has a truly global perspective. It contains more than 2,100 entries Donald Borchert, Ed. 2nd ed. 10 vols. Full-Text.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Definitive, peer-reviewed encyclopedia of philosophical concepts and biographies of philosophers. Coverage: 1995 to present. Full-Text.