Databases
- Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new windowSearch chapters and essays contained in books of collected works, focusing on humanities and social sciences, including works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This index covers archaeology, folklore, architecture, history, art, linguistics, literature, music, classical studies, poetry, drama, political science, economics, religion women's studies, and film. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations only.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. This collection also includes images. Coverage: 1990 to present. Citations only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
Criticism
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore an authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works and including excerpts from scholarly articles. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: varies. Mostly full text.
- Literary Index (Gale Literary Sets) This link opens in a new window
- The Critical Perspective byCall Number: REF PR85 .C76 1985ISBN: 0877547904
Biographies
- Who's Who in the Middle Ages byCall Number: REF D115 .F5 1971ISBN: 0812813391
British Writers by Call Number: REF PR85 .B688ISBN: 0684157985
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Explore career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres of literature. Photographs of many authors are included. This "Dictionary of Literary Biography" access includes the main series (399 vols. ending June 2024), documentary (19 vols), and yearbook volumes (1980/81 - 2002/03). This database is considered a “closed set” meaning no new content will be added to this database. Coverage: all eras of literary history, through June 2024 content additions. Full text.
- German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages, 800-1170 byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780810357099
Primary Resources
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowAccess manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period, focusing chiefly on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land and it features a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. Coverage: 13th-16th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University byCall Number: Z6621 .B4213 1984ISBN: 0866980652
Introduction
The following lists are not comprehensive. The items listed on this page are representative of some of the most frequently used research materials on this topic. To find more material, consult the library catalog or contact your librarian for assistance. You can also consult the research guide for English.
Some electronic databases, including MLA, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian.