Research Guides: Medieval & Early Modern Studies: Medieval History

Databases

Some eletronic databases, including America: History & Life, do NOT provide the complete text of articles.
For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter ; for ancient history, use JSTOR . Coverage: varies. Full text.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Access manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period, focusing chiefly on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land and it features a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. Coverage: 13th-16th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.

Annotated Index of Medieval Women by Anne Echols; Marty Williams
Call Number: REF CT3220 .A56 1992
ISBN: 0910129274

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. This collection also includes images. Coverage: 1990 to present. Citations only.

Biographies

Bibliographies

Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages by Linda K. Davidson; Maryjane Dunn-Wood
Call Number: BV5067 .D38 1993
ISBN: 0824072219
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
Literature of Medieval History, 1938-1975 by Gray C. Boyce (Compiled by); Paul Meyvaert (Introduction by)
Call Number: REF D117 .P25 1981
ISBN: 0527104620
Publication Date: 1981-01-01

Primary Resources

The following databases provide primary sources in Medieval history and culture.

Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Access manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period, focusing chiefly on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land and it features a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. Coverage: 13th-16th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From B.C. through the 21st century.
Index of Medieval Medical Images
From UCLA.

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Access images of Christian, secular, and other religiously oriented Medieval art, in color and black and white images. This collection includes art from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture. Coverage: late antiquity to the 16th century, contains primary sources. Full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Medieval & Early Modern Studies: Medieval History

Databases

Biographies

Bibliographies

Primary Resources