Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An online multimedia encyclopedia.
The Italian language version of this collaborative encyclopedia.
Online Archival Material
"A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. "
Dictionaries & Grammar
Zanichelli Online Dictionaries
Provides online access to Lo Zingarelli and il Ragazzini Italian dictionaries. 3 simultaneous user limit per dictionary.
A digital archive of Italian poetry.
Biblioteca dei Classici Italiani
A great selection of Italian literary texts, from the origins to the present.
Biblioteca della Letteratura Italiana
A large digital library of Italian literature. All texts are in PDF format.
Intratext Digital Library
A collection of primary texts in Italian and other modern and ancient languages.
Biblioteca Italica - Biblioteca Augustana
A collection of primary texts in Italian and several other languages.
Princeton Dante Project
A digital publication of all of Dante's work, with commentaries, translations, audio, and more.
A digital version of Boccaccio's Decameron with a tremendous amount of accompanying material.
A web site dedicated to Italian literature, which makes available biographies of over 100 Italian authors from Dante to the present. Critical comments and overviews of hundreds of individual works of literature are also presented.
You should be cautious when using internet resources for your research. Some web resources don't have editors or fact-checkers and no standards exist to ensure accuracy on the internet. To determine whether a website may be appropriate for your research, you should take a look at various elements of the page and think about the following criteria.
An appropriate website may be:
- Signed or attributed to an author
- Created by an expert in the field
- Hosted by a university, college, branch of government or not-for-profit organization
- Updated frequently
- Cited and upported by footnotes, bibliographies, and additional readings
- Relevant to your research
An inappropriate website may be:
- Unsigned and unattributed to an author
- Created by a profit-making company
- Hosted by advertisers motivated to sell products
- Biased strongly toward one point of view
- Out of date and rarely, if ever, updated
- Devoid of the author's sources
- Flashy and interesting, but irrelevant
Italian Studies Web
Resources for Italian Studies online, selected and organized by librarians and scholars in the field.
"ItalNet is an international consortium whose mission is to make available scholarly Internet resources of literary and historical materials relating to Italian studies."
Digital library of texts representative of the Italian cultural and literary tradition from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century.