Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for the Humanities
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities including Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, and Religion. FOR CITATION SEARCHING: Click the "More" button at the top of the search screen, then click "Cited References." Coverage Range: Mid-1970s - present.
An interdisciplinary archive of over 2,500 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: Historical & current publications up to 1 - 5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
A multi-disciplinary database of full text scholarly journals and e-books in both humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. E-books include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.
Pascal and Francis
Provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS).
Open access journals in the subjects of language and literature.
Italian Studies Periodicals from 2000 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals. International in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, and more. Coverage: 1963-present. Some full text.
Gale Literary Criticism
Authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works. Includes excerpts from scholarly articles. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: Varied. Mostly Full-Text.
Bibliografia Generale della Lingua e della Letteratura Italiana (BiGLI)
Provides bibliographic information for periodicals related to the study of Italian language and literature. Includes scholarly journals as well as newspapers and magazines. Coverage: Varied. Citations Only.
Film & TV
Film Literature Index
Indexes film and television articles, including film reviews, published between 1976-2001. Journals and magazines originate from 30 countries. Coverage: 1976-2001. Citations Only.
Film and Television Literature Index
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Includes articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Coverage: 1930 to present. Full-Text.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. Includes secondary source articles from more than 1800 journals, as well as books and book reviews. This is the most important source of secondary research material for the study of modern world history. Note: for U.S. history, use America: History and Life
; for medieval history, use Iter
. Coverage: 1955-present. Full-Text.
More Information on Journals
For more information on searching for Journal articles, including information about using keywords, click here for a guide about the research process.
Diasporic Italian Cultures
Voices in Italian Americana: VIA
A semiannual literary and cultural review devoted to the dissemination of information concerning the contributions of and about Italian Americans to the cultural and art worlds of North America.
An online journal and website devoted to the study of Italian migrations, featuring bibliographies, statistics, images, and links to other online resources.