Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Waidner-Spahr Library

First Year Seminar Information Literacy Scaffold: FYS Scaffold Supplement

FYS Scaffold Supplement

Timing and Notes Description

Connection to Syllabus Templates  
(see FYS Faculty Moodle)

Supplemental Lesson 1

Timing: Within first 2 to 4 class meetings. 

News

If your course’s topic lends itself to current events, students should learn to search for, retrieve, and analyze news articles on their own.

Tutorial: Finding and Evaluating Newspaper Articles

Required Reading: Newspaper and journal Special Access Instructions.

Activity Suggestions:

  • Provide students with the citation to a newspaper article that the library owns and that is required reading for your course. Ask them to obtain the article and read it critically for discussion or a writing exercise. 
     
  • Students can find, analyze, and report on an article related to your course they find their own using a library subscription-based paper such as NYT, Washington Post, Chronicle of Higher Ed, etc.  Students should read the article critically for discussion or a writing exercise.

Link to Syllabus Templates

Writing Analytically (8th ed) Weeks 2 or 3


Writing Spaces Weeks 2 or 3. Additional reading: "Reading Games: Strategies for Reading Scholarly Sources" (Rosenberg).


A Writer's Reference (8th ed) Weeks 2 or 3.

 

Supplemental Lesson 2

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IF NOT WORKING WITH A LIBRARIAN

Timing: Weeks 9

Compare Library Database Results with Google 

In order to reinforce the idea that Google is not sufficient as a stand-alone resource for academic research, students should compare the results of a search in Google to those from a library-provided database.

Tutorials: If students haven't already, they should complete the tutorials: What is JumpStart and Choosing a Database and Choosing the Best Terms for Your Search.

Assignment: Comparing Google to Library Databases

Link to Syllabus Templates

Writing Analytically (8th ed) Week 9. Additional reading: "Finding Quality on the Web," 246-250.


Writing Spaces Week 9. Additional reading: "Effectively and Efficiently Reading the Credibility of Online Sources" (Carillo and Horning).


A Writer's Reference (8th ed)  Week 9.

Supplemental Lesson 3

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IF NOT WORKING WITH A LIBRARIAN

Timing: This should be assigned in conjunction with Supplemental Lesson 4 when a research project is introduced. These can be combined into one assignment or completed separately. Both should be completed shortly after a final project is assigned as an exploratory step on the way to a final research project that is completed in stages.

This could be combined with a lesson on Zotero, our bibliographic management program. However, we recommend that students learn the mechanics of citing by hand before using a citing tool. See Supplemental Lesson 6 below for information about Zotero.

Building a Bibliography/Works Cited List

Students begin a research project by selecting and citing relevant research material. 

Required Reading: Citing Sources Guide (use tabs appropriate to your course requirements)

Assignment: Finding and Citing Sources

RECOMMENDED: If you do not invite a liaison to visit your class, consider allowing them to briefly introduce themselves, and encourage students to meet with the librarian as they work on their research project.    
 
This assignment should be subject to revision. 

Link to Syllabus Templates

Writing Analytically (8th ed) Week 10 with revision in Week 11. Additional reading: "The Four Documentation Styles: Similarities and Differences," 255-7 plus the pages that pertain to your course: APA, 257-258; Chicago (covers footnote version only), 258-260; MLA, 262-263.


Writing Spaces Week 10 with revision in Week 11.  Additional reading: Walker, "Everything Changes, Or Why MLA Isn't (Always) Right:" 


A Writer's Reference (8th ed) Week 10 with revision in Week 11.  Additional reading: "Managing Information," 369-372.  Review as applicable one of the following "MLA-4 Documenting Sources", 412-464 OR "APA - Documenting Sources," 489-525 OR "CMS Documenting Sources," 548-570. 

Supplemental Lesson 4

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IF NOT WORKING WITH A LIBRARIAN

Timing: Around Week 12. This assignment should be assigned in conjunction Supplemental Lesson 3 when a research project is introduced. These can be combined into one assignment or completed separately. Both should be completed shortly after a final project is assigned as an exploratory step on the way to a final research project that is completed in stages.

Analyzing Secondary Sources

Students should learn to critically analyze sources, and avoid descriptions that simply restate an academic title or draw too heavily from an abstract.

Students should revise their work from Supplemental Lesson 3 then continue with this assignment, which requires them to annotate/analyze the sources they selected.  

This assignment should be used for secondary source material only. See Supplemental Lesson 5 for instruction in primary sources.

Assignment: Analyzing Secondary Research Material
 
RECOMMENDED: If a liaison will not be visiting your class, consider allowing them to briefly introduce themselves, and encourage or require students to meet with the librarian as they work on their research project.   

This assignment should be subject to revision.

Link to Syllabus Templates

Writing Analytically (8th ed) Week 12 with revision in Week 13. Additional reading: from "Source Anxiety and What To Do about It," through "Preparing an Abstract," 215-235.


Writing Spaces Week 12. Additional reading: "Creating, Using and Sharing Information in Research Communities" (Hemstrom and Anders).


A Writer's Reference (8th ed) Week 12. Additional reading: "Evaluating Sources," 375-389.

Supplemental Lesson 5

Timing: Flexible. This module can be used when you introduce students to finding and/or analyzing primary sources or material from Dickinson's Archives.

 

Primary Sources

This module familiarizes students with primary sources and teaches them how to to find primary sources. 

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED: If you would like to use material from the Archives, consult with the staff at least two weeks prior to assigning this work.

Required Tutorial: Introduction to Primary Sources

Required Reading:

Assignment Options:

Link to Syllabus Templates

Writing Analytically (8th ed) Week 13


Writing Spaces Week 13. Additional reading: "At Work in the Archives: Place-Based Research and Writing" (Gaillet and Rose).


A Writer's Reference (8th ed) Week 13. Additional Reading: "Evidence Typically Used in Various Disciplines," 122.

Supplemental Lesson 6

Timing: When students start to collect more than 10 sources for a research project. 

Zotero (Bibliographic Management Tool)

Zotero is an online bibliographic management  tool that allows researchers to easily collect, organize, share, and cite research material.

More information, instructions for getting started, and tutorials can found on our Zotero Guide.

Link to Syllabus Templates

N/A