General Information
This guide is meant to serve as a supplement to the English Guide, focusing on English Literature of Great Britain, subdivided by Time Period.
The following lists are not comprehensive. The items listed on this page are representative of some of the most frequently used research materials on this topic. To find more material, consult the catalog or contact your librarian for assistance.
Criticism
- Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Search a master index to the major literature books published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Poetry Criticism. Coverage: historical to present. Citations only.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by Call Number: REF PR19 .O95 2006ISBN: 0195169212Publication Date: 2006-03-03
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Beginnings and the Renaissance byCall Number: REF PR106 .S7 1985ISBN: 091228918XPublication Date: 1986-04-01
Reference Guide to English Literature by Call Number: REF PR106 .S7 1991ISBN: 155862080XPublication Date: 1991-07-29
Guide to British Poetry Explication by Call Number: REF PR311 .M34 1991ISBN: 0816189218Publication Date: 1991-02-01
The Columbia History of the British Novel by Call Number: PR821 .C65 1994ISBN: 0231078587Publication Date: 1994-05-19
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new windowSearch chapters and essays contained in books of collected works, focusing on humanities and social sciences, including works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This index covers archaeology, folklore, architecture, history, art, linguistics, literature, music, classical studies, poetry, drama, political science, economics, religion women's studies, and film. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations only.
- Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Search a master index to the major literature books published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Poetry Criticism. Coverage: historical to present. Citations only.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Bibliographies
Romantic Poetry by Women by Call Number: PR508 .W6 J33 1993ISBN: 0198112394Publication Date: 1993-09-16
Websites
- Literary Resources on the NetA "meta" site maintained by Rutgers University — Newark.
Biographies
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Explore career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres of literature. Photographs of many authors are included. This "Dictionary of Literary Biography" access includes the main series (399 vols. ending June 2024), documentary (19 vols), and yearbook volumes (1980/81 - 2002/03). This database is considered a “closed set” meaning no new content will be added to this database. Gale Literature. Coverage: all eras of literary history, through June 2024 content additions. Full text.