Research Guides: English: ENGL 101 / FMST 210

Library Activities

Library Worksheet

Is a source credible? Try SIFT

The SIFT method asks you to stop and consider whether a source of information is trustworthy.

Stop
Investigate the Source
Find Better Coverage
Trace Claims, Quotes, etc.

Introducing SIFT (Mike Caulfield)

Try SIFT

Star Wars and the Middle Ages

What is the source's function? Consider the BEAM Model

The BEAM model (Bizup, 2008) asks you to consider how you will use a source. What, ultimately, is the function that the source will provide?

Background
Exhibit/Evidence
Argument
Method

BEAM Model (Joseph Bizup)

Databases

Search two or more of these databases from English, Film Studies, and Medieval and Early Modern Studies to find sources relevant to your topic.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window Access scholarly and popular information covering the spectrum of television and film studies. This collection includes articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Coverage: 20th century to present. Full text.
ITER Bibliography This link opens in a new window Search books, articles, and essays about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700 C.E.), published from 1784 to present. Click on "check for full text" for availability through Dickinson's library. Coverage: 400-1700 C.E. Citations only.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
JumpStart This link opens in a new window Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.