Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Reviews Online
A book review is a critical evaluation of a book, usually published in periodicals such as journals and newspapers. A book review relects the reviewer's opinion or recommendation about the work. Scholarly reviews may be based on the book's organization; the author's writing style; possible market appeal; and cultural, political, or literary significance. Book reviews appear in respected journals such Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, Choice, and the New York Review of Books, and Times Literary Supplement.
In addition to the sources below which are dedicated to book reviews, you can find reviews in other journals by searching MLA or Jumpstart (see left), selecting "Advanced Search" and narrowing your search to "Reviews" in the "Source Type" field.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access historical issues of Times Literary Supplement, a literary journal which scrutinized, dissected, applauded, and occasionally disparaged, the work of the twentieth century's leading writers and thinkers. This journal is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 1902-2019. Mostly full text.
Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Access reviews of books and electronic products from all disciplines. Coverage: 1988 to present. Full text.
Book Review Digest Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search book reviews on a wide range of topics, including adult and juvenile fiction and nonfiction as well as scholarly works, from a variety of sources. Coverage: 1903-1982. Citations only. This purchase was a gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941.
Magill's Literary Annuals This link opens in a new window
Access reviews of literature, both fiction and nonfiction, published in English, from writers in the United States and around the world. *This collection must be accessed from on campus.* Coverage: 1977-2021. Full text.
New York Review of Books This link opens in a new window
Access articles, reviews, letters and original essays from The New York Review of Books. Coverage: 1963 to present. Full text.
London Review of Books This link opens in a new window
Access long reviews and literary and intellectual essays in English by academics, writers and journalists. There are also shorter art and film reviews, as well as poems and a lively letters page. Coverage: 1979 to present. Full text.
New Yorker Archive This link opens in a new window
Access The New Yorker magazine from 1925 to the current print issue. Coverage: 1925 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
The sources below provide long-form book reviews, interviews, and essays on new authors and new books.
Los Angeles Review of Books
Includes long-form reviews, essays, and interviews about literature, culture, and the arts.
Focused on literary fiction and nonfiction, Literary Hub publishes personal and critical essays, interviews, and book excerpts from over 100 partners, including independent presses, large publishers, bookstores, non-profits, and literary magazines.
World Literature Today
Presents essays, poetry, fiction, and book reviews from all over the world in a format accessible to a broad audience.
Includes essays, criticism, and literary news as well as two weekly literary magazines: Recommended Reading, which publishes short story and novel excerpts with personal recommendations, and The Commuter, which publishes flash fiction, poetry, and graphic narrative.
Publishes articles and reviews related to English language science fiction and other speculative fiction, as well as original short science fiction.