Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Be cautious when using internet resources for your research. Always evaluate the site for:
- current information.
Click here for more information on evaluating resources.
Important Societies and Organizations
Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents database, maintained by the Max Planck Institute.
The Planetary Data System (PDS)
Archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
United States government geophysical data.
DOE Data Explorer
Data from the Department of Energy, including information on atmospheric radiation, climate-change, and radioactive elements.
Earth on AWS
A collection of open geospatial data hosted on Amazon's web servers. Contains: Landsat 8, NEXRAD, SpaceNet, NAIP (National Agricultural Imagery Program), Digital Elevation Models, GDELT, NASA Earth Exchange, OpenStreetMap, Sentinel-2, DigitalGlobe Open Data Program, MODIS, Functional Map of the World, GOES, and UK Met Office Weather Forecasts.
A resource for anyone interested in paleontology, from the professional in the lab to the interested amateur scouting for fossils to the student in any classroom.
The Paleontological Society
An international nonprofit organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology; invertebrate and vertebrate paleontology, micropaleontology, and paleobotany.
Wonderful full text, electronic journal. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1998)-
International Palaeontological Association's PaleoLink Database
A public database of paleontological data that anyone can use, maintained by an international non-government group of paleontologists.
Regional Paleogeographic Views of Earth History
A series of paleogeographic and plate-tectonic reconstructions that illustrate the broad patterns of the Earth's structural history.
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
This dictionary defines about 15,600 words.
William Whitaker's Words
A modest, student-size dictionary of 39,000 entries. This tool is to help in simple translations for a beginning Latin student or amateur.
Tree of Life
Source for biodiversity and Phylogeny
Focuses on encouraging everyone to learn about and enjoy the fascination of dinosaurs, and supporting the work of people engaged in forwarding the science of palaeontology.
American Museum of Natural History's Division of Paleontology
Seeks to describe the diversity of extinct invertebrates and vertebrates, and explore the mechanisms driving their evolution and extinction.
The Paleobiology Database
Query, download, and analysis tools assembled by hundreds of paleontologists around the world.
Science Daily: Paleontology News
Breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more.
A non-commercial, education website teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology.
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
American mineralogist crystal structure database
An interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogists, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy, and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals.
USGS Mineral Resources Program
Unbiased science and information to increase understanding of ore formation, mineral potential, production, consumption, and how minerals interact with the environment.
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program
Relevant earthquake science and information knowledge for reducing deaths, injuries, and property damage from earthquakes through understanding of their characteristics and effects and by providing information and knowledge needed to mitigate these losses.
USGS Landslide Hazards
Focused on reducing long-term losses from landslide hazards by improving our understanding of the causes of ground failure and suggesting mitigation strategies.
USGS Volcanoes Hazards Program
Monitors and studies active and potentially active volcanoes, assesses their hazards, and conducts research on how volcanoes work.
How Volcanoes Work
Describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes.
Ocean Data Portal
Provides infrastructure to integrate collections and inventories of marine data and allow for the directory, evaluation and access to data via web services to meet the needs of the whole ocean community.
National Oceanographic Data Center
Comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data.
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program
Coastal and ocean resources from shorelines and estuaries to the continental shelf and deep sea, providing expertise, tools, products, and data that address and inform a broad array of resource challenges facing our nation.
NOAA Marine Geology and Geophysics
World data service for geophysics.
Arctic and Snow
NOAA Arctic theme page
Science, service, and stewardship to the rapidly changing Arctic region, its inhabitants, and the Nation.
Origins: Antarctica : scientific journeys from McMurdo to the Pole
Live Webcasts, stories, features, and notes from the field about scientific life in Antarctica.
National Snow and Ice Center
Manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere.
(archive.org version, as site is no longer being maintained)
Water resources of the United States
Works with partners to monitor, assess, conduct targeted research, and deliver information on a wide range of water resources and conditions including streamflow, groundwater, water quality, and water use and availability.
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)
Provides scientists across the United States — and the globe — with a host of tools, from community models to research aircraft to supercomputers to workshops.
Provides the paleoclimatology data and information scientists need to understand natural climate variability and future climate change.
Structural Geology on the Web
Various resources pertaining to structural geology.
Cornell's Building the Digital Earth
Provides dynamic mapping tools, data analysis and selection tools, ability to incorporate point, line, and polygon data sets, as well as tools like the Profile Maker, which is used to extract profiles between two arbitrary points on Earth.
Earth Science World
Various resources, including images, an interactive geologic time scale, and games, for earth sciences and geosciences
Geoscience Resources on the Web
'The Virtual Geosciences Professor' that provides geosciences resources.
GSA Online Publication Page
Online publications through the Geological Society of America, including open access sources.
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
A federal science center operated by the U.S. Geological Survey that works to map, monitor, and analyze land change across our nation and around the world.
, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
, Earth Sciences
, Environmental Science/Studies
, Help and How-To
, Library Tutorials
, Physics & Astronomy