Art & Art History: Reference Sources

Access both Grove Art Online and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, along with other Oxford art reference resources. This art and art history collection contains biographical information, thumbnail art images, and bibliographies. Coverage: antiquity to present. Full text.

Access a scholarly encyclopedia for art and art history. This encyclopedia includes thumbnail art images and line drawings, image links, and bibliographies. This encyclopedia is cross-searchable with the Benezit Dictionary of Artists using Oxford Art Online. Coverage: antiquity to present. Full text.

Access information on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts, including materials, techniques and foreign terms. Coverage: Antiquity to present. Full text.

Explore concise biographical essays, as well as auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies on artists across all media. This regularly updated dictionary provides entries on famous and lesser known artists, and includes images of artists' signatures, monograms, and stamps. This dictionary is cross-searchable with Grove Art Online using Oxford Art Online. Coverage: antiquity to present, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access information on artists and their works, as well as art movements, theory, criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques. Relevant museums and galleries are listed under the city of their location. Coverage: classical times to the 20th century. Full text.

Explore historical and contemporary accounts and critical discussions on the subject of aesthetics, from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film and popular culture. Coverage: antiquity to the early 21st century. Full text.