Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Books Online
These resources will help you obtain background information about artists, artworks, styles, movements, etc.
Reference Sources Online
Oxford Art Online
Access to both Grove art online and the Benezit Dictionary of artists, and other oxford art reference resources. Excellent reference source for art and art history, including biographical information, thumbnail art images, and bibliographies. Coverage: Antiquity to present; Full-Text.
Grove Art Online
The definitive encyclopedia for art and art history. Grove Art includes thumbnail art images and line drawings, image links, and bibliographies. Full-Text.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Provides on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts. The quick reference format includes materials, techniques, and foreign terms essential for navigating the current visual climate. Featuring clear definitions of movements and media, from Baroque to Minimalism, aquatint to raku, and canvas to Venetian glass.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day with regular updates. In addition to concise biographical essays, it includes thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. Provides entries on famous and lesser known artists, and includes images of artists' signatures, monograms, and stamps. Biography. Coverage: Antiquity to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Oxford Companion to Western Art
Provides coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work, as well as art movements, theory, and criticism. Lists all relevant museums and galleries under the city of their location.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Contains more than 600 articles with historical accounts and critical discussions on the subject of aesthetics.