Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for Art
Consult these databases first for articles on Art and Art History. Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective can be combined to search together and maximize results.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers all genres of visual arts including a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Coverage Range: 1929 to present. Full text.
Art Index Retrospective
International journals in all genres of visual art. Includes journals published between 1929 to 1984. Coverage: 1929 to 1984. Citations Only.
Provides full abstracts of resources on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Coverage: Late 1960s to present. Citations Only.
International Bibliography of Art
This database is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Provides coverage of European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Coverage: Varied. Citations Only.
Supplementary Databases for Art
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
A citation-only index of articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Items in the index have been published between 1975 to present. Some full-text coverage may be available through the library's "Get It!" feature. Coverage: 1975 to present. Citations Only.
Grove Art Online
The definitive encyclopedia for art and art history. Grove Art includes thumbnail art images and line drawings, image links, and bibliographies. Full-Text.
Index of Medieval Art
Images of Medieval, Christianity-oriented art in color and black and white images with metadata. Coverage: Apostolic Period to A.D. 1400, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Archives of American Art
Primary resources, such as original letters, photographs, transcripts and audio materials are digitally available on people and institutions that helped found American Art. The Archives hold approximately two hundred years' worth of materials and are located in New York and Washington DC. Coverage: Approximately 200 years, contains primary sources. Some Full-Text.
Berg Fashion Library
Offers access to resources in fashion and related fields. Includes the full-text of the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, and an extensive color image bank. Useful for research in fashion, theatre & dance, anthropology, art history, history, american studies, and cultural studies. Coverage: Varied, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Databases for the Humanities
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities including Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, and Religion. FOR CITATION SEARCHING: Click the "More" button at the top of the search screen, then click "Cited References." Coverage Range: Mid-1970s - present.
An interdisciplinary archive of over 2,500 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: Historical & current publications up to 1 - 5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
A multi-disciplinary database of full text scholarly journals and e-books in both humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. E-books include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.
Pascal and Francis
Provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS).
A catalog of millions of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Useful for discovering books that our library does not own that you can borrow via interlibrary loan (EZ-Borrow or ILLiad). Coverage: From before 1000 BC to the present . Citations only, except for links to freely available e-books, government documents, and web sites. See also www.worldcat.org and dickinson.worldcat.org for alternative interfaces to WorldCat. (alternate search term: World Cat) .
This is the online version of "Anthropological Literature" from Harvard University and "Anthropological Index" from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute. It covers international journals from the early 19th century to the present. In addition to journal articles, it includes citations for reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: Late 19th century to present. Citations Only.