Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Primary Sources: Primary Source Timeline

Introduction

This guide contains a timeline that visually shows the timeframes covered by Dickinson's primary source databases, as well as the regions covered. The first list, Periodicals, features databases with historical periodical content, such as newspapers. The second list, Documents and Texts, features a wide range of primary source content, including images and written documents. 

Click on a title to go to that database. For detailed information on a database, please see our full Databases list

Primary Source Timeline

TITLE & PRIMARY COVERAGE AREA   pre-1600 1600s 1700s 1800s 1900-1950 1950-1999 2000s
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Personal accounts documenting the relationships among peoples in North America.
World 1534-1850  
Historical Digital Archives
Topics include Hispanic- and African-American history, theology, and Revolutionary War.
United States Pre-1600s-1950  
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1928 United States   1690-1928  
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines.
United States   1740-1900  
International Women’s Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues World   1786-1933  
London Times United Kingdom   1790-1905  
Congressional Universe
Congressional publications, committee prints, hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, bill tracking, and full-text public law.
United States   1789-Present
Guardian & Observer Historical Newspapers United Kingdom   1791-2003
Times (London) Digital Archive World   1785-2006
19th Century British Library Newspapers United Kingdom   1800-1900  
19th Century U.S. Newspapers United States   1800-1900  
Accessible Archives
American 19th-century journals and newspapers including African-American, Civil War and Pennsylvania coverage.
United States   1800-1900  
Civil War Era
Regional U.S. newspapers and pamphlets.
United States   1840-1865  
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia & Alabama United States   1861-1865  
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines United States   1860-1865  
Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South
An influential literary magazine.
United States   1834-1864  
African American Historical Serials Collection United States   1816-1922  
Latin American Newspapers World   1805-1922  
Historical Chinese Newspapers World   1832-1953  
National Geographic Magazine Archive United States   1888-1994  
Wall Street Journal United States   1889-1998  
American Jewish Historical Newspapers United States   1854-2000
Economist Historical Archive World   1843-2015
Historical Newspapers
Cities include Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington DC with coverage of Jewish and African-American newspapers.
United States   1849-2005
Koseisha Japanese Magazine Index Database World   1868-Present
New York Times United States   1851-2008
Sunday Times United Kingdom   1822-2006
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
London newspaper.
United Kingdom   1855-2000
Yomidas Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shimbun)
Japan's major newspaper.
World   1874-Present
Franklin D. Roosevelt & Race Relations, 1933-1945 United States   1933-1945  
Liberty Magazine 1924-50
General interest magazine.
United States   1924-1950  
Modernist Journals Project
Resources regarding modernism in the English-speaking world, includes The Crisis and The Little Review.
World   1900-1950  
SUR Journal Archives, 1931-1992
Latin American literary magazine.
World   1931-1992  
African American Historical Newspapers United States   1910-2003
Associated Press Collections United States   1930-2010
New Yorker Magazine Archive United States   1925-Present
People's Daily of China World   1946-Present
Women's Magazine Archive
Includes Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
United States   1937-2005
Canadian Major Dailies World   1977-Present
Foreign Policy Journal Archive (foreignpolicy.com) World   1970-Present
Independent Voices
Alternative and underground press archives.
United States   1950-2016
International Newsstream
World news from Mexico, Thailand, France, England, China, Israel, and others.
World   1980-Present
World News Connection Archive
Foreign-language new articles translated into English.
World   1995-2013

Inspiration for this website comes from Colgate University Libraries. 

TITLE & PRIMARY COVERAGE AREA   pre-1600 1600s 1700s 1800s 1900-1950 1950-1999 2000s
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Classical Greek and Latin literature.
World Pre-1600s  
eHRAF Archaeology
Cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory.
World Pre-1600s  
Index of Medieval Art World 33-1400  
Medieval Travel Writing
Focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East.
World 1200-1599  
Early English Books Online (EEBO) United Kingdom 1475-1700  
American History, 1493-1945 United States 1493-1945  
The Bridgeman Art Library
Images covering the visual arts from around the world.
World 1200-1950  
North American Women's Letters and Diaries World 1400-1950  
American Indian Histories and Cultures United States 1500-1960  
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection
Materials pertaining to US Hispanic history, literature, and culture. The content is 80% Spanish, 20% English.
United States 1500-1960  
Gallica (French)
Books, pamphlets, images, and sound resources in French.
World 476-1999  
ARTstor
Images covering the visual arts.
World Pre-1600s-Present
Berg Fashion Library World Pre-1600s-Present
eHRAF World Cultures
Cultural and social life.
World Pre-1600s-Present
EuroDocs
Western European primary historical documents.
World Pre-1600s-Present
European History Primary Sources (EHPS) World 500-Present
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts United States 1400-Present
Library of Latin Texts Online World Pre-1600s-Present
World Digital Library
A UNESCO project containing multi-lingual primary source materials.
World Pre-1600s-Present
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Periodical collection covering all aspects of American Society.
United States   1691-1877  
Documenting the American South United States   1624-1920  
Indigenous Peoples: North America United States   1665-1988  
ARTFL
French literature, non-fiction prose, and technical writing.
United States   1600-Present
OutHistory.org
Stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
United States   1600-Present
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 United States   1600-2000
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)
English-language materials including books, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements, and works by well-known and lesser-known authors.
World   1700-1799  
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
English, French and German titles including fiction, prose, drama, and poetry.
World   1790-1840  
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New York Historical Society
Journals kept by military units containing their orders and other information.
United States   1748-1817  
Slavery and the Law United States   1770-1865  
War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas United States   1789-1814  
British Politics and Society United Kingdom   1790-1914  
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture United Kingdom   1733-1914  
City & Business Directories: Maryland United States   1725-1929  
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York United States   1700-1950  
HathiTrust Digital Library
Books and other materials from across the disciplines and in numerous languages.
World   1700-1950  
History of Economic Thought World   1700-1914  
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Original manuscripts from the American Antiquarian Society.
United States   1750-1950  
Science, Technology and Medicine: 1780-1925
Journals, books, reports, and personal documents.
World   1780-1925  
Slavery & Abolition Resource Center United States   1787-1911  
Southern Life & African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records United States   1775-1915  
Their Own Words
Dickins College resources. Topics include US government, biography, the American Civil War; the temperance movement, economics, medicine, philosophy, and theology.
United States   1764-1918  
Women: Transnational Networks
Documents suffrage, birth control, gender and class issues.
World   1790-1910  
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers United States   1700-1999  
Ancestry Library Edition
Genealogy and advanced biographical research.
World   1790-Present
Dickinson College Archives & Special Collections
College history and digital projects including the Carlisle Indian School, the LGBT Center of Central PA History Project, and Slavery and Abolition in the US
United States   1751-2000
Fold3
U.S. and some international military records, including personal documents of service personnel.
United States   1700-Present
HeinOnline Academic
A government document and legal research database.
United States   1700-Present
U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps
House and Senate documents and reports from congressional committees.
United States   1789-Present
American Civil War Research Database United States   1800-1850  
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries United States   1855-1875  
Black Abolitionist Papers United States   1830-1865  
Children's Literature and Childhood World   1800-1899  
Civil War in Words & Deeds United States   1861-1865  
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals United States   1864-1887  
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army, 1854-1870 United States   1854-1870  
Emily Dickinson's Correspondences United States   1850-1880  
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa.
World   1800-1900  
House Divided
Stories of the U.S. Civil War era (1840-1880) through the window of Dickinson College.
United States   1840-1880  
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera United States   1860-1869  
James Buchanan Resource Center United States   1800-1899  
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the US District & Circuit Courts United States   1855-1861  
Making of America (U. of Michigan)
Social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
United States   1850-1877  
Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature World   1800-1899  
Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive (NCCO) World   1800-1900  
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 United States   1800-1880  
Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets United States   1865-1877  
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884 United States   1871-1884  
Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts and other documents.
World   1800-1899  
Victorian Women Writers Project
Transcriptions of their works.
United Kingdom   1800-1899  
War Department & Indian Affairs United States   1800-1824  
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Experiences of Westerners in Asia, principally US and British diplomatic documents.
World   1818-1923  
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center United States   1879-1918  
City & Business Directories: Virginia United States   1839-1929  
County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois United States   1852-1921  
Gilded Age United States   1865-1902  
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
World   1880-1930  
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories World   1800-1950  
Photography: The World Through the Lens World   1840-1910  
Churchill Archive Full-Text United Kingdom   1874-1965  
County & Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania United States   1839-1971  
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 World   1898-1958  
History Vault
Covers Black Freedom, Immigration, NAACP, Plantations, Politics, Slavery, Vietnam War, Civil War, World War II, and Women's Rights.
United States   1816-1995  
Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library United States   1861-1976  
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 United States   1880-1990  
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights United States   1880-1990  
Access to Archival Databases
Records from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
United States   1800-Present
Africa and the Struggles for Freedom (Aluka) World   1800-Present
African American Archives United States   1800-Present
Archives of American Art
Letters, photographs, transcripts and audio materials.
United States   1800-Present
Library of Congress Digital Collections United States   1800-Present
Women and Social Movements International, 1840 - present
Primary documents including letters and diaries of activists, and proceedings of historic conferences. For coverage of the US, see Women and Social Movements in the United States. Coverage Range: 1840 to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
United States   1840-Present
World Heritage Sites - Africa (Aluka)
Objects that provide visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.
World   1800-Present
Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot: The Critical Edition World   1905-1926  
Economy & War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944 World   1933-1944  
First World War: Personal Experiences World   1914-1918  
General George C. Marshall's Mission to China: 1945-1947 United States   1945-1947  
German Anti-Semitic Propaganda
German-language books and pamphlets.
World   1909-1941  
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan World   1930-1949  
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exlie & Resettlement World   1945-1950  
Revolution in Mexico: The 1917 Constitution & Its Aftermath
US State Department.
United States   1910-1924  
TITLE & PRIMARY COVERAGE AREA   pre-1600 1600s 1700s 1800s 1900-1950 1950-1999 2000s
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War World   1914-1919  
U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945 World   1914-1945  
Women, War & Society: 1914-1918
Includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, news, magazines, posters, letters, minutes, etc.
World   1914-1918  
World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees United States   1938-1949  
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
FBI and White House files, the papers of activists and NAACP Papers.
United States   1900-1999  
Chinese Civil War & US-China Relations: Records Of US State Dept Office Chinese Affairs World   1945-1955  
Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976
Early homosexual civil rights movement and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty.
United States   1941-1976  
Making of the Modern World
Theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West.
World   1945-1963  
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 World   1917-1970  
Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 World   1914-1974  
NAACP Papers
Organization and major campaigns of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.
United States   1910-1970  
Archives of Human Sexuality & Identity: LGBTQ History & Culture Since 1940 United States   1940-Present
Contemporary Middle East World   1915-Present
International Women's Movement: Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association World   1938-2006
Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters United States   1947-2004
What Americans Eat
Photographs, documents, posters, and other materials that explore the US government's impact on what Americans eat.
United States   1923-2011
America In Protest: Records Of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations United States   1967-1975  
American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism
FBI files American Indian Movement (AIM).
United States   1968-1979  
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate United States   1960-1975  
Black Liberation Army & The Program of Armed Struggle
FBI documents about Black Liberation Army (BLA) activities.
United States   1970-1983  
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution & Environmental Policy United States   1989-1991  
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation World   1950-1990  
Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) World   1950-1994  
East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
Records of the U.S. Department of State.
United States   1950-1963  
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist & Woman United States   1966-1978  
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Viewpoints on political, social, cultural and economic issues.
United States   1956-1971  
In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994 United States   1983-1994  
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis (Archives Unbound)
Creators of modern gay and feminist movements who founded the first US lesbian rights organization, the Daughters of Bilitis.
United States   1966-1984  
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin & The Daughters of Bilitis (Archives Unbound) United States   1955-1984  
Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union United States   1965-1979  
Records of the Persian Gulf War United States   1990-1990  
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 United States   1960-1974  
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 World   1989-1993  
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 United States   1960-1975  
Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence United States   1952-1969  
Women's Issues & Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977 United States   1974-1977  
Chatham House Archive
Publications of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, one of the world's leading think-tanks.
United Kingdom   1966-2008
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications World   1970-Present

Inspiration for this website comes from Colgate University Libraries. 

Loading ...