Research Guides: Political Science: Law & Policy Studies Articles

Search by Journal & Newspaper Title

Enter your search:

This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.

Google Scholar

Criminal Justice

Federal Bureau of Investigation
FBI Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Criminal Justice Drug Abuse Treatment Studies (CJ-DATS) Series
In 2002, with support from several federal partners, the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) launched the national Criminal Justice Drug Abuse Treatment Studies (CJ-DATS), a multisite research program aimed at improving the treatment of offenders with drug use disorders and integrating criminal justice and public health responses to drug involved offenders. Under CJ-DATS, researchers from 10 academic research centers and NIDA are working together with federal, state, and local criminal justice partners to develop and test integrated approaches to the treatment of offenders with drug use disorders. At present, there are 11 major studies underway in CJ-DATS. These studies are valuable in their ability to address important cross-cutting issues in criminal justice and drug abuse treatment when dealing with the drug involved offender.
European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics
United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems (UN-CTS)
The major goal of the United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems is to collect data on the incidence of reported crime and the operations of criminal justice systems with a view to improving the analysis and dissemination of that information globally. The survey results provide an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.
International Crime Statistics - United Nations
International Crime Victimization Survey (ICVS) Series: ICPSR
This project was set up to fill the gap in adequate recording of offenses by the police for purposes of comparing crime rates in different nations and to provide a crime index independent of police statistics as an alternative standardized measure. The ICVS is the most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at a householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. It also allows for analysis of how risks of crime vary among different groups of populations across social and demographic lines.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Explore essential topics related to criminal justice and criminology, including forensic sciences, corrections and policing. This collection includes international journals. Coverage: early 1900s to present. Full text.

Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology
Online guide to the essential literature across the various subfields of criminology. It combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of criminology.

Core Library Databases for Law & Policy Studies

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Access research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
Congressional Universe This link opens in a new window
Explore Congressional publications, committee prints, Congressional hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, bill tracking, and public law. This collection includes high resolution Serial Set maps from 1789 to 1969. Coverage: 1776 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Browse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Explore essential topics related to criminal justice and criminology, including forensic sciences, corrections and policing. This collection includes international journals. Coverage: early 1900s to present. Full text.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Access government documents and legal research, including United States statutory materials, United States Congressional Documents, scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, and all United States treaties. Also includes classic treatises and presidential documents, and state and federal case law. Includes special collections on criminal justice; civil rights and social justice; history; foreign relations; religion and the law; and women and the law; LGBTQ+ rights, immigration law and policy; indigenous peoples history, law and culture; water rights and resources; voting rights and election law, among others. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund. Full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Explore documents relating to three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961. The Frankfurter Papers reveal how the Supreme Court approached the Brown v. Board of Education decision. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1861-1976, contains primary sources. Full text.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Access essays that present multiple sides of controversial issues, along with a series of questions and additional information to generate further thought. This collection also includes supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. It is useful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Access research covering comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, and political theory. Coverage: 1960s to present. Full text.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1789-Present) This link opens in a new window
Access House and Senate documents and reports from congressional committees, from the late-1700s to present, as well as high-resolution maps from 1789-2007, from the Army Corps of Engineers and the U.S. Geological Survey, among others. Coverage: varies. Full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Political Science: Law & Policy Studies Articles

Search by Journal & Newspaper Title

Google Scholar

Criminal Justice

Core Library Databases for Law & Policy Studies