General Databases
If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journal Locator. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to. Click here to view our tutorial on choosing a database.
If you are looking for quick access to articles, start your research with these:
- arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
Access openly available e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. These articles have NOT necessarily been formally published yet and may not be in their final form. E-prints in this archive have not been peer-reviewed by arXiv. Full text.
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Search everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- JumpStart This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowSearch mathematical literature and literature in computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems. Coverage: 1800 to present. Citations only.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window
A collection of open United States data from federal agencies (e.g. NOAA, EPA, NASA, USAID, and Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Education, Energy, Health & Human Services, Homeland Security, Labor,Transportation, Justice, State, Veterans Affairs); as well as state, city and county governments. (The Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab is creating a Data.gov Archive to preserve and authenticate vital public datasets for academic research, policymaking, and public use.)
