Home
OHMAR Pogue Award (2022)
The LGBT Center of Central PA History Project was awarded the Oral History in the Mid-Atlantic Region’s (OHMAR) 2022 Pogue Award. Created in 2012, the project’s mission is, “to engage people in discovering, documenting, collecting, preserving and presenting the history of the LGBTQ+ community in central Pennsylvania through oral histories and material culture.” The project consists of oral history interviews with over 150 people and works in tandem with Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections, which houses the collection. The project has generated many temporary, traveling and digital exhibits, sponsored symposia and lectures, forged partnerships with over a dozen history, art and community organizations and worked with over 20 college interns.
The LGBT Center of Central PA uses social, educational and cultural engagement to cultivate inclusive communities and holistic well-being for LGBTQ communities.
A nonprofit that promotes and improves oral history, OHMAR serves as a forum for sharing information about oral history techniques and application, pushes for quality standards and assists people interested in oral history.
Philip M. Hamer and Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award (2019)
The Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections were selected as this year's recipient of the award for the Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center. The Philip M. Hamer and Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award recognizes an archivist, editor, group of individuals, or institution that has increased public awareness of a specific body of documents (which can be a specific archival collection or thematic aggregation) through compilation, transcription, exhibition, or public presentation of archives or manuscript materials for educational, instructional, or other public purpose. Through the resources in the Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center, the Archives and Special Collections seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the Carlisle Indian School and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there.
Archives staff members who helped to create the Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center include Jim Gerencser (Archivist and Class of 1993), Malinda Triller-Doran (Special Collections Librarian), and Don Sailer (Digital Projects Manager and Class of 2009). Friends of the Library Interns and Library Assistants who have contributed toward the success of the project include Tessa Cicak (’13), Katie Clark (’12), Kacee Cooke (’11), George Gilbert (’19), Caitlin Moriarty (’13), Rachel Suppok (’16), Suri Smith (‘13), and Frank Vitale ('16). An additional two dozen Dickinson work/study students and interns have also given a great deal of time and energy toward this important project.
American Library Association’s Library Instruction Round Table Innovation in Instruction Award (2019)
The Library won this award for our college-wide information literacy program. It is given to acknowledge a library's contributions to the development, advancement, and support of information literacy instruction. The award is open to all types of libraries, academic and non-academic alike, and thus is very competitive. It is the highest award achievable for excellence in information literacy programming.
Our notification letter advised us that we “can take great pride in the fact that [the] Awards Committee reviewed many applications. We found the assessment-driven overhaul of your instruction program, particularly the English 300 initiative, best exemplified instructional innovation that combined the use of new technology, new delivery methods, and low-cost reproducibility. These are all aspects of library instruction that LIRT promotes and values.”
For more information, see the award press release and the LIRT Awards page.
The prize money from this award funds an annual prize for sophomore or junior Dickinson College students who produce an exemplary research project.
Chris Bombaro (Associate Director and Class of 1993) and Rachel Suppok (Friends of the Library Intern and Class of 2016) wrote the application for this award.
Credo Reference’s First Year Experience Innovation in Instruction Award (2018)
The Library won this award for our first-year information literacy program. The award committee noted that we were “chosen for strong collaborative efforts, established assessment practices, and proven record at improving learning outcomes. The library’s integration of information literacy (IL) into the campus’ First Year Seminar (FYS) Program resulted in 89% of participating students surveyed reporting that they used the IL skills learned during their FYS in other courses.
"We are very impressed by the information literacy rubric for the FYE,” said Fresno State first year student success librarian Raymond Pun. “This can serve as a great reference for others developing their IL standards supporting first year students."
Marian Traynor, Library User Services Manager at Sheridan College, added, “Not only is information literacy instruction a part of Dickinson’s First Year Seminar, but librarians also work to create customized and scaffolded instruction for specific courses in a variety of formats (online tutorials, in-class workshops and student consultations) leading to greater engagement and improved learning outcomes.”
For more information, see Credo’s announcement.
The prize money from this award funds an annual prize for first-year Dickinson College students who produce an exemplary research project.
Chris Bombaro (Associate Director and Class of 1993) and Rachel Suppok (Friends of the Library Intern and Class of 2016) wrote the application for this award.
Milton E. Flower Historian of the Year Award from the Cumberland County Historical Society (2018)
This award was presented to staff members of Archives & Special Collections for the Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center (2018). This online resource has for the first time digitized and made publicly accessible letters, newspapers, student records, and other materials related to the Carlisle Indian Industrial School that operated in Carlisle, PA between 1879 and 1918. The site’s leadership has also visited many Native American communities and provided toolkits for classroom use.
Archives staff members who helped to create the Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center include Jim Gerencser (Archivist and Class of 1993), Malinda Triller (Special Collections Librarian), and Don Sailer (Digital Projects Manager and Class of 2009). Friends of the Library Interns and Library Assistants who have contributed toward the success of the project include Tessa Cicak (’13), Katie Clark (’12), Kacee Cooke (’11), George Gilbert (’19), Caitlin Moriarty (’13), Rachel Suppok (’16), Suri Smith (‘13), and Frank Vitale ('16). An additional two dozen Dickinson work/study students and interns have also given a great deal of time and energy toward this important project.
Reference and User Services Association's Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award (2018)
This award is presented to individuals who make a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. It was presented to Eleanor Mitchell (Library Director) for her 13 years of service as co-editor of the international peer-reviewed journal Reference Services Review.
Mitchell and her co-editor were honored for their “strengths of knowledge and experience about reference service and user instruction to deliver critically vetted and carefully edited articles on the major strains of reference work. They have taken a strong journal and developed it into an exemplary venue for sharing ideas about the complex nexus of information sources, information discovery and delivery systems, information professionals and library users. Under their editorship they have transformed the journal into one of the most respected in the field of reference librarianship.”
For more information, see the ALA’s Mudge award announcement.