Core Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Search this online version of "Anthropological Literature" from Harvard University plus "Anthropological Index" from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute to find citations for essential anthropological literature. In addition to journal articles, this collection includes citations for reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Citations only.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAccess the journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist and Cultural Anthropology. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windowAccess summaries and documents for archaeological traditions including Egyptian, Highland Andean, Coastal Andean, Maya, Highland Mesoamerican, Mississippian, Mesopotamian, the U.S. Southwest, the Indus Valley, and the Yellow River. This collection includes books, articles, dissertations and manuscripts under each tradition and is designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Coverage: prehistory, contains primary sources. Full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. This index covers a broad range of subjects, from language and literature to history to archaeology and more. Coverage: 1928 to present. Citations only.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Explore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
Other Recommended Databases
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available. A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowAccess summaries and documents on all aspects of cultural and social life across the globe. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Coverage: historical to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion, covering all religious traditions, with the strongest coverage in the Judeo-Christian tradition. Coverage: 1818 to present. Citations only.
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new windowAccess news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
Google Scholar
Selected Journals
General Archaeology Journals
Archaeology of the Americas Journals
Midcontinental Journal of Archaeology
Mediterranean Archaeology Journals
American Journal of Archaeology
Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology
Near Eastern Archaeology Journals
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research
Journal of Near Eastern Studies
Journals List
Enter your search:
This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.
Locating Articles
Basic process for finding articles
If you find an article that looks interesting check to see if there is a link to the pdf or HTML version of the article by the citation. If not, then click the "Get It!" button to see if we have access to it either electronically or in print.
Requesting articles we do not own
If we have neither print nor electronic access to an article in our collection, then you can place an order for it through ILLIAD.
You will have to set up account the first time you order an article but once you have done this once you can use this same account each time you want an article.
Once you have an account set up then you can just click the "ILLIAD" link in the "Get it!" button and log into your account and the request form will be automatically populated with the citation information for your desired article so you only need to submit the request.
(If you do not have a journal citation, but instead have a topic, use one of our databases to locate citations).