Children on plantation in Louisiana, 1940 (Library of Congress)
Tools for Developing Your Topic
Choosing a topic and developing a research question can be challenging. The resources below contain information about issues related to Women's and Gender Studies that can help you refine the scope of your project.
A reference resource containing general articles on American history and culture. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. The Encyclopedia addresses issues such as literature, art, photography, film, popular culture, architecture, consumer culture, urban studies, ethnicity, gender, race, economics, labor, social movements, politics, and global America. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you (Part of Credo Reference package). Coverage: All Volumes. Full-Text.
This online encyclopedia contains biographies of influential women and articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies. Citations Only.
This digital version of the nine-volume set provides an overview of a variety of social science topics, as well as a bibliography and cross-linking to related topics. It also provides biographical information on scholars in social science fields. Coverage: Regularly updated. Full-Text.
Includes more than 500 encyclopedic titles from respected publishers in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography and country studies, and more. Full-Text.