General Collection
General Collection
Full length books on subjects relating to Political Science may be found in the Waidner-Spahr Library Catalog. However, because Political Science can encompass such a wide range of topics, try combining specific terms related to your topic rather than just searching for Political Science.
Examples: Middle East Peace Process / Proliferation AND Iran
Borrowing From Other Libraries
To find books that Dickinson does not own, or that are checked from our library, use PALCI EZ Borrow. You will receive an email after your requested books arrives and pick it up on the shelves next to the circulation desk in the library.
To request journal articles that the library does not have, use ILLiad. First time users will need to create an account. Your requested item will usually be sent to you as an email attachment.
Citing Your Sources
Chicago Manual of Style
You are required to format your citations for this course according to the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources, including the very helpful Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide.
Another tool which you may find useful to help keep track of and format your citations is RefWorks. To use this resource, simply create an account to import citations, keep track of them, and format bibliographies. Please consult your liaison librarian for assistance.
General Information
The following provides a list of resources to assist with research for POSC 277 International Politics of the Middle East, or for political research pertaining to the Middle East generally.
Some resources are restricted to people currently affiliated with Dickinson.
Because your research may cross over many academic disciplines (such as Political Science, History, or Economics) students are strongly encouraged to consult with a librarian for help with specific topics.
Liaison Librarian: Anna Kozlowska, 717-245-1849
Books
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by ISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Politics and Policy
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowBrowse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
Religion
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowSearch literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 to present. Citations only.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Material is compiled from periodicals and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the National Library of Israel. Coverage: 1966 to present. Citations only.
- ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion, covering all religious traditions, with the strongest coverage in the Judeo-Christian tradition. Coverage: 1818 to present. Citations only.
History
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
Social Sciences/General
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
News Sources
World News Connection Access to translated news from all over the world, with coverage range from 1994 to present. An important resource for those who do not know the foreign language yet needs a different perspective other than US. Full-text. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Public Opinion
Polling the Nations Provides access to over 14,000 surveys conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters and detailed information on the questions. The surveys are from 1986 to present, and are available in full-text.
