Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Waidner-Spahr News and Events: Library Events and Exhibits

Join us for these upcoming events:

Current Exhibits

Feral Cats Awareness

Main Level - Circulation Area

Annually, the Arts Collective creates an art project to bring attention to an issue relating to campus. This year, they are addressing the campus' feral cat population by working with artist and Dickinson alumna Talla Barnes. Multiple sculptures are located around campus, this one representing a cat tree, along with information about feral cats and how to address the issue in a humane way. 

Arctic and Alpine Climate Change

Spahr - Main Level

Arctic and Alpine Student Research Experience is an exhibit of photographic images depicting Dickinson College's expeditions to the Arctic.Thanks to the ongoing generosity of John Pohl '78 and Susan Wyckoff Pohl '80, students and faculty in the Earth Sciences Department have had the opportunity to study climate change in the field during sponsored trips to the arctic and alpine region.

Ice Change

Students performing research

Bear in river with flora in the background

Click here for more information about this exhibit: https://libguides.dickinson.edu/geosciences

Current Archives Exhibits

A History of Take Back the Night at Dickinson

Upper Level

 

Nuclear Crisis of 1979: Dickinson College & Three Mile Island 

Archives Hallway, Lower Level

Description of the exhibit

Wide shot of Three Mile Island exhibit

Tshirts designed by students in response to the three mile island scare

The Potato Chip Factory: A Mysterious Building on Dickinson's Campus

Archives Hallway, Lower Level

Description of the Potato Chip Factory display

Photos of William Durden videoing inside the mysterious building on campus

wide shot of potato chip factory display case

Dickinson Yearbooks: an Historical Overview

Friends of the Library Area, Lower Level

 This exhibit shows off everything from covers to the first female Editor-in-Chief, and really gives you an idea of how much has changed throughout the decades. Microcosm has been recording history since 1890 and continues to be an active club on campus. If you are interested in participating in the yearbook staff, please contact cosm@dickinson.edu.

yearbooks in a display case

yearbooks in a display case

Yearbooks showing impact of war on campus

Yearbook in a display case

Fortune Telling: Books & Artifacts from Special Collections

Upper Level 

Take a peek into your future with these treasures covering everything from palm reading to tea cup fortune telling.

palm reading book

palm reading book

tea cup fortune telling book

 

Notable Dickinsonians, 2018-2019 School Year

May Morris Room, Archives and Special Collections, Lower Level 

Horatio Collins King Display Case

Zatae Longsdorff Straw Exhibit Case

This exhibit features highlights from collections of personal papers, photographs, and artifacts donated by Dickinsonians. Included in this exhibit are Moncure Daniel Conway, class of 1848, Zatae Longsdorff, class of 1887, Montague Frank Modder, visiting Professor, James Buchanan, class of 1809, Craig Robert Thomas, son of Dickinson Alums, Edgar and Elizabeth Burke Miller, classes of 1920 and 1923 respectively, Horatio Collins King, class of 1858, Sarah L. Rowe, class of 1934, and Charles Francis Himes, class of 1855.

Previous Events and Exhibits in the Library

Asian Stone Art Presentation

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts - September 27, 2018

Asian Stone Art Presentation

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts - September 27, 2018

Asian Stone Art Presentation

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts - September 27, 2018

Asian Stone Art Presentation

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts - September 27, 2018

By the People, For the People Exhibit Opening

By the People for the People: Black Student Activism at Dickinson - 2017/2018

By the People, For the People Exhibit Opening

By the People for the People: Black Student Activism at Dickinson - 2017/2018

By the People, For the People Exhibit Opening

By the People for the People: Black Student Activism at Dickinson - 2017/2018

By the People, For the People Exhibit Opening

By the People for the People: Black Student Activism at Dickinson - 2017/2018

Serving Up Dickinson Archives Exhibit 2017/2018

Serving Up Dickinson Archives Exhibit 2017/2018

Serving Up Dickinson Archives Exhibit 2017/2018

Serving Up Dickinson Archives Exhibit 2017/2018

Best Laid Plans: 19th Century Building Projects at Dickinson

Best Laid Plans: 19th Century Building Projects at Dickinson 2017/2018

Best Laid Plans: 19th Century Building Projects at Dickinson

Best Laid Plans: 19th Century Building Projects at Dickinson 2017/2018

Justice is Served - Refugee Art Exhibit 2017/2018

Justice is Served - Refugee Art Exhibit 2017/2018

Justice is Served - Refugee Art Exhibit 2017/2018

Justice is Served - Refugee Art Exhibit 2017/2018

Waidner-Spahr Library Anniversary Exhibit 2017/2018

Waidner-Spahr Library Anniversary Exhibit 2017/2018

50th (Boyd Lee Spahr) and 20th (Waidner) anniversaries of the library building

Students at outdated computers in the reference area

Waidner-Spahr Library Anniversary Exhibit 2017/2018

50th (Boyd Lee Spahr) and 20th (Waidner) anniversaries of the library building

Image for the card catalog funeral

Waidner-Spahr Library Anniversary Exhibit 2017/2018

50th (Boyd Lee Spahr) and 20th (Waidner) anniversaries of the library building

The Biblio as peridocials before it was the Biblio

Waidner-Spahr Library Anniversary Exhibit 2017/2018

50th (Boyd Lee Spahr) and 20th (Waidner) anniversaries of the library building

Love Your Body Week 2018

Love Your Body Week 2018

Love Your Body Week 2018

Love Your Body Week 2018

Adipositivity Photo Exhibit 2018

Adipositivity Photo Exhibit 2018

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts Exhibit - September 17 - October 5, 2018

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts Exhibit - September 17 - October 5, 2018

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts Exhibit - September 17 - October 5, 2018

Stone and Spirit: Suiseki (Japanese Landscape Stones) and Asian Stone Arts Exhibit - September 17 - October 5, 2018

commserv showcase

CommServ Showcase October 2018

CommServ is a network of 16 programs that reach into the local community to meet a variety of needs on a regular basis. These groups build and maintain strong community partnerships through sustained interactions. The coordinators of each program meet weekly for reflection, training and leadership development as they seek to understand the complexity of community needs and services. The volunteers meet regularly with their coordinators and volunteer weekly with their community partners. Two student staff members help coordinate the 32 student leaders that run the weekly CommServ groups. 

Cardboard Sculptures
October 2018 
ARTH 123 Fundamentals of Sculpture

Cardboard Sculptures
October 2018 
ARTH 123 Fundamentals of Sculpture

Cardboard Sculptures
October 2018 
ARTH 123 Fundamentals of Sculpture

FrankenReads

FrankenReads
October - November 2018

English 403
Celebrating the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

frankenreads

FrankenReads
October - November 2018

English 403
​Celebrating the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

english 403

FrankenReads
October - November 2018

English 403
​Celebrating the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

Old dickinson football helmet

Hats at Dickinson
September - December 2018

Carlisle Indian Industrial School, 1879-1918
September - December 2018

history comes out exhibit

History Comes Out: Selections from the LGBT Center of Central PA History Project
September - December 2018

Tomatoes and Taxi Ranks Poster

Tomatoes and Taxi Ranks: Viewing African City Life Through Food 
Jane Battersby, Fulbright Scholar in Residence, and Africana Studies 220: U.S. and African Foodscapes 
November - December 2018

Tomatoes and Taxi Ranks poster

Tomatoes and Taxi Ranks: Viewing African City Life Through Food 
Jane Battersby, Fulbright Scholar in Residence, and Africana Studies 220: U.S. and African Foodscapes 
November - December 2018

tomatoes and taxi ranks poster

Tomatoes and Taxi Ranks: Viewing African City Life Through Food 
Jane Battersby, Fulbright Scholar in Residence, and Africana Studies 220: U.S. and African Foodscapes 
November - December 2018