Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Please see our Library Services Updates: Summer & Fall 2021 website for the most up-to-date information about library services.

Sustainability: Books

Reference Books - Finding Background Information

Reference books, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be excellent sources of background information on a topic.  

Credo Reference is a collection of online reference books.  Use the search box below to find entries related to your research topic.

Credo Logo

 

The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History is a peer-reviewed encyclopedia providing background information and a bibliography for further reading. Click the Environmental History section after opening the database. 

Reference Books on Sustainability

Reference books can give you helpful background information on a topic as you begin your research. Below are some examples from our library.

Finding Books

Use the library catalog search box on this page to find books and e-books at Dickinson.

Jumpstart searches both the catalog and a large number of library databases, so it is also great place to start your research.

For help understanding library call numbers and locating books in the library, please see our tutorial on finding books in the Waidner-Spahr Library and the library map

Library Catalog

Enter your search:

 

Books About Sustainability

We have many books in our collection on topics related to sustainability. Some useful Library of Congress Classification Subjects include:

Other search suggestions:

  • Enter "Environmental aspects" as a subject in our catalog and then enter the location or topic that you are interested in as a keyword.
  • Use different terms to describe the same phenomena. Put "OR" between similar ideas. For example:  "environmental movement" OR "green movement"
  • Click here for more tips on choosing search terms.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Don Sailer
Contact:
Willoughby Digital Scholarship Lab (Library, Lower Level)
717-254-8341
Website

A Selection of Sustainability Books

Below are some examples of books about sustainability in the Waidner-Spahr Library.