Research Guides: Psychology: Databases

Key Psychology Databases

If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journal Locator. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to.

Below, we have compiled a list of databases that are particularly relevant for psychology. Please click on the icon for more information about each database. Click here for tips on choosing a database.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive index to international psychology literature in journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1800s to present. Citations only.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access articles on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and others. Coverage: 1894 to present. Full text.
PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Search for information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are also included. Records provide citation information for questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more. Use the citation to identify the source document which may contain the full-text of an instrument. Some instruments will only be available for a fee from the developer. Coverage: 1900s to present. Citations only. Limited to one user at a time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Access reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership, as well as a bibliography to commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Coverage: 20th century to present. Full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.

General Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Search a multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of topics and fields. Coverage: 1990 to present. Citations only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.

Related & Subject-specific Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Search this online version of "Anthropological Literature" from Harvard University plus "Anthropological Index" from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute to find citations for essential anthropological literature. In addition to journal articles, this collection includes citations for reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Citations only.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Explore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Access articles, reports, government documents and other unpublished sources not indexed elsewhere, on topics in education and many related fields (child development, psychology, libraries, etc). See also Education Source. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Access current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.

Primary Sources

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Access social science data from around the world for research and instruction, and training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.