Core Databases
If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by searching our Journals by Title. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to. Click here to view our tutorial on choosing a database.
Below, we have compiled a list of databases that are particularly relevant for physics and astronomy.
- Institute of Physics This link opens in a new windowAccess peer-reviewed journals in physics and related fields. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowExplore research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, including engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management. This collection includes leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text, Jumpstart searchable.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowSearch mathematical literature and literature in computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems. Coverage: 1800 to present. Citations only.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new windowSearch for research in astronomy, astrophysics, physics and general sciences, including arXiv e-prints. The "Get It!" button option is not available, but multiple options for tailoring your search are. Citations only.
Additional Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowExplore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
