Research Guides: Philosophy: Articles

Core Databases

PhilPapers : Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
Search philosophy books and articles, including pre-prints and open access archives. This index features fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Search books and journals of philosophy and related fields for articles, covering the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Coverage: 1940 to present. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.

Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) This link opens in a new window
Search articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion, covering all religious traditions, with the strongest coverage in the Judeo-Christian tradition. Coverage: 1818 to present. Citations only.
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Access works catalogued in the eighteenth-century section of the English Short-Title Catalogue. The collection includes a wide variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 18th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. This index covers a broad range of subjects, from language and literature to history to archaeology and more. Coverage: 1928 to present. Citations only.

For help getting started, see our Research Process guide.