Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Always use caution when using Internet resources. Be sure to evaluate them for:
You can find other high quality web sites using WorldCat, by limiting your search to "Internet Resources". The internet resources listed in WorldCat have been reviewed and chosen for their high level of quality. Click here for more tips on evaluating sources.
Here are some websites that we have evaluated for you:
A resource for anyone interested in paleontology, from the professional in the lab to the interested amateur scouting for fossils to the student in any classroom.
The Paleontological Society
An international nonprofit organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology; invertebrate and vertebrate paleontology, micropaleontology, and paleobotany.
The International Paleontological Association's PaleoLink Database
A public database of paleontological data that anyone can use, maintained by an international non-government group of paleontologists.
Regional Paleogeographic Views of Earth History
A series of paleogeographic and plate-tectonic reconstructions that illustrate the broad patterns of the Earth's structural history.
Wonderful full text, electronic journal. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1998)-
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
This dictionary defines about 15,600 words.
Words by William Whitaker
A modest, student-size dictionary of 39,000 entries. This tool is to help in simple translations for a beginning Latin student or amateur.
Tree of Life
Source for biodiversity and Phylogeny
Focuses on encouraging everyone to learn about and enjoy the fascination of dinosaurs, and supporting the work of people engaged in forwarding the science of palaeontology.
American Museum of Natural History's Division of Paleontology
Seeks to describe the diversity of extinct invertebrates and vertebrates, and explore the mechanisms driving their evolution and extinction.
The Paleobiology Database
Query, download, and analysis tools assembled by hundreds of paleontologists around the world.
Science Daily: Paleontology News
Breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more.
A non-commercial, education website teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology.
Paleontology Database Network
List of links to paleontology databases.
Paleontology News from Science/AAAS
Links to articles pertaining to paleontology.
National Geographic Education's Paleontology Encyclopedia Entry
General information about paleontology from National Geographic.
Society of Vertebrate Paleontology (SVP)
A diverse organization of scientists, students, artists, preparators, advocates, writers and scholars across the globe, who are dedicated to the study, discovery, interpretation and preservation of vertebrate fossils.
General Paleontology Resources
A collection of links of paleontology websites and resources.
National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian)
A collection of 145 million specimens and artifacts.
A website covering all aspects of palaeontology.
, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
, Earth Sciences
, Environmental Science/Studies
, Help and How-To
, Library Tutorials
, Physics & Astronomy