Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Start eBooks for Music Research
Welcome to the music research guide. Whether you are an upper level music major or you are taking your first music class, this is an excellent place to begin your research. For personal assistance, please contact the library liaison for music, Ian Boucher.
The definitive starting point for music research
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable access to three of the most comprehensive reference sources on music: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Includes in-depth articles, biographies, chronologies, works lists, and brief entries on all aspects of classical and world music. This is the definitive starting point for research on composers and their works, musical periods and styles, music history and related performing arts. Allows 3 simultaneous users. Coverage: Varies. Full-Text.
JumpStart - Find print books, eBooks, journals articles, music, and much more
JumpStart This link opens in a new window
JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. With one interface you can search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. Coverage: Varied. Some Full-Text.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Access historic audio recordings and supporting materials from field expeditions around the world, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. Coverage: mostly 1960s-1980s, contains primary sources. Full text.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. Contains more than 11 million tracks. Collections include American Music, Classical Music, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Full text.
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Explore scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the mid-20th century to the present day. Content includes the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 book series, artist page biographies, and more. Coverage: mid-20th century to present. Full text.
DRAM Music Online
DRAM Music Online This link opens in a new window
For streaming audio, DRAM Music Online is an excellent complement to Naxos Music Library. DRAM includes a diverse collection of American music from the New World Records and CRI labels, as well as other unique and important recordings neglected by the commercial marketplace. Genres include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th to 21st century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more.
Subjects: Educational Studies
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Film & Media Studies
, Help and How-To
, International Business & Management
, International Studies
, Law & Policy Studies
, Library Tutorials
, Policy Studies
, Political Science
, Security Studies
Citing in Chicago Style
Chicago Notes & Bibliography
All the rules and examples for citing in Chicago Notes & Bibliography style are in chapter 14 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition.
Chicago Author-Date References
The standard for ethnomusicology research, Chicago Author-Date style is explained in chapter 15 of the Chicago Manual of Style.