Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images in Databases
These are image databases that you have access to as a Dickinson College student. ARTstor is the largest and premier database for art and architecture images online.
A massive (and growing) collection of quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been licensed for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor are available on Youtube
and the ARTstor website
. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Berg Fashion Library
Offers access to resources in fashion and related fields. Includes the full-text of the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, and an extensive color image bank. Useful for research in fashion, theatre & dance, anthropology, art history, history, american studies, and cultural studies. Coverage: Varied, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Index of Medieval Art
Images of Medieval, Christianity-oriented art in color and black and white images with metadata. Coverage: Apostolic Period to A.D. 1400, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
These websites organize online images for scholarly use with many archival and art images.
NYPL Digital Library
A living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Google Arts & Culture
Artworks, collections, and stories from all around the world in a new way and explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail.
Web Gallery of Art
Virtual museum of Western Fine art.
Approximately 80,000+ images are held in this image database brought by San Jose State University. Please check the conditions of use for each image that is utilized in your project. For further inquiries please contact me at the information below.
Dickinson's Visual Resources Collection
Must be on campus and affiliated with Dickinson to use.
Yale University's Digital Collections
Yale University Library's database for their digital collection.
Images from Museums
Many museums are now offering high quality scans of their collections online for use by students and scholars.
An online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from their museums, archives, libraries, and research units.
Over 125,000 images from the Rijksmuseum.
Walters Art Museum
High quality digital images.
LACMA - Image Library
Thousands of high quality downloadable images of artworks from LACMA in the public domain—available without restriction, free of charge for educational use.
Open access images from the National Gallery of Art available to download for educational use.
Getty Open Content Program
The Getty Museum's program to allow open access to images of their collections.