Reference Books
The following reference works are only a small representation of the reference collection in the disciplines of Earth Sciences and life sciences. An easy way to find additional reference works would be to do a SUBJECT search in the library catalog. For example, to find dictionaries and encyclopedias in Paleontology you would perform a subject search on: PALEONTOLOGY and ENCYCLOPEDIAS.
When in doubt as to the proper subject heading try a TITLE or KEYWORD search on your topic. Works on Sedimentology can be found under a variety of subject headings: Sedimontology, sediments, sedimentary etc. Click here for more tips on choosing search terms.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology. (Electronic resource)
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1402008724Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by Call Number: REF GC9 .E58 2001ISBN: 012227430XPublication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory by Call Number: REF GN281 .E53 2000ISBN: 0815316968Publication Date: 2000
History of Physical Anthropology by Call Number: GN50.3 .H57 1997ISBN: 0815304900Publication Date: 1997- Magill's Survey of Science, Earth Science Series byCall Number: REF QE28 .M33 1990ISBN: 0893566063Publication Date: 1990
- The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Fossils byCall Number: REF QE711.2 .P5413 1990ISBN: 081602149XPublication Date: 1990
- A Pictorial Guide to Fossils byCall Number: REF QE714 .C32 1982ISBN: 0442226519Publication Date: 1982
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs and Prehistoric Animals by Call Number: REF QE841 .I45 1999ISBN: 1840281529Publication Date: 1999
Elsevier's Dictionary of the Genera of Life by Call Number: REF QH83 .T77 1999ISBN: 0444829059Publication Date: 1999
Latin Names Explained: A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals by Call Number: REF QL9 .G67 1996ISBN: 0816033773Publication Date: 1996- Encyclopedia of Human Biology byCall Number: REF QP11 .E53 1991ISBN: 0122267516Publication Date: 1991
- Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics byCall Number: REF QE601 .E53 1987ISBN: 0442281250Publication Date: 1987
