Introduction
The following lists are not comprehensive. The items listed on this page are representative of some of the most frequently used research materials on this topic. To find more material, consult the catalog or contact your librarian for assistance.
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Journals
- CluesFrom 09/01/2004 to 06/30/2007 in Humanities International Complete; from 10/01/2011 to present in Humanities International Complete; from 1980-1997, 1999-2001, 2004 to 2006 in Print or Microfilm.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new windowSearch chapters and essays contained in books of collected works, focusing on humanities and social sciences, including works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This index covers archaeology, folklore, architecture, history, art, linguistics, literature, music, classical studies, poetry, drama, political science, economics, religion women's studies, and film. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations only.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the popular press (magazines, news magazines, general interest periodicals), on topics including art, business, computers, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, health & medicine, history, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, and travel. Coverage: 1890-1982. Some full text.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and other materials in libraries worldwide. This tool is useful for discovering books that our library does not own that you can borrow via interlibrary loan (EZ-Borrow or ILLiad). Coverage: before 1000 BC to the present. Citations only, except for links to freely available e-books, government documents, and web sites.
See also Open WorldCat and Dickinson on Worldcat for alternative search box options.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Reference and Research Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction by Call Number: REF PN3448 .D4 B59 2004ISBN: 1563089246Publication Date: 2004-01-30
The Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery by Call Number: REF PN3448 .D4 M87 1999ISBN: 0312215541Publication Date: 1999-12-01
The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing by Call Number: REF PN3448 .D4 H37 1999ISBN: 0195072391Publication Date: 1999-12-16- Twentieth Century Crime and Mystery Writers byCall Number: REF PR888 .D4 T8 1991ISBN: 1558620311Publication Date: 1991-05-01
Criticism
- Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Search a master index to the major literature books published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Poetry Criticism. Coverage: historical to present. Citations only.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore an authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works and including excerpts from scholarly articles. Includes literature criticism for these genres and time periods: classical and medieval; contemporary; drama; 1400-1800; 19th century; poetry; Shakespearean; short stories; 20th century. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: varies. Mostly full text.
Biographies
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Explore career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres of literature. Photographs of many authors are included. This "Dictionary of Literary Biography" access includes the main series (399 vols. ending June 2024), documentary (19 vols), and yearbook volumes (1980/81 - 2002/03). This database is considered a “closed set” meaning no new content will be added to this database. Gale Literature. Coverage: all eras of literary history, through June 2024 content additions. Full text.
- 100 Masters of Mystery and Detective Fiction byISBN: 1587651874
Websites
- Literary Resources on the NetA "meta" site maintained by Rutgers University — Newark.