Reference Materials
The library's reference collection is extensive and will contain many similar dictionaries and encyclopedies for hundreds of subject areas. An easy way to find additional reference works would be to do a SUBJECT search in the library catalog. For example, to find dictionaries and encyclopedias in Earth Sciences you could perform a subject search on GEOLOGY and DICTIONARIES.
When in doubt as to the proper subject heading try a KEYWORD search on your topic.
Search Tips:
- Change your terminology (energy, fossil fuel, natural resources)
- Change your spelling (mineral, minerals, mineralogy)
- Click here for more tips on choosing search terms
The following reference works are only a small sample of the reference collection in the discipline of Earth Sciences:
- Credo Reference Good online source for locating basic information about particular energy resources--includes information from a variety of reference resources.
- Minerals yearbook (Electronic resource)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy by Call Number: OVERSIZE TJ163.28 .M33 2000ISBN: 0028650212Publication Date: 2001
Nuclear Power: A Reference Handbook by Call Number: REF TK9146 .H45 2000ISBN: 1576071286Publication Date: 2000
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment by Call Number: REF TJ163.235 .W55 1997ISBN: 047114827XPublication Date: 1997
Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook by Call Number: TJ808.3 .S65 2008ISBN: 9781598840896Publication Date: 2008
Sciences of the Earth: An Encyclopedia of Events, People, and Phenomena by Call Number: REF QE11 .S38 1998ISBN: 081530062XPublication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Energy by Call Number: OVERSIZE TJ163.28 .E53 2004ISBN: 9780121764807Publication Date: 2004- Minerals Yearbook, 2011, V. 3, Area Reports, International, Europe and Central Eurasia byCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781411336711.
