Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search by Journal & Newspaper Title
Enter your search:
This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.
Social Science Databases
Social Science Database
Includes a variety of scholarly journals covering social science topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations. Mostly Full-Text.
SocIndex with Full-Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1895-present. Full-Text.
Core Library Databases for Political Science
Political Science Complete
Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, and political theory. Coverage: 1960s-present. Full-Text.
Points of View Reference Center
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Useful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. Coverage: Varied. Full-Text.
An interdisciplinary archive of over 2,500 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: Historical & current publications up to 1 - 5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Ethnic News Watch
Covers news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1990 to present. Mostly Full-Text.
Politics in America
A definitive source for information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. Designed for use by political professionals, government officials, students, scholars, and interested citizens, it contains in-depth profiles of every member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting. Offers comprehensive, nonpartisan commentary and data about members of Congress. Detailed member profiles provide concise insight and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations at home and on the Hill. Coverage: 1999-present. Full-Text.
U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1789-Present)
The U.S. Serial Set contains the House and Senate documents and reports from congressional committees. The Serial Set map collection contains thousands of high-resolution maps, including maps from the Army Corps of Engineers and the U.S. Geological Survey. Funded in part by the Walter E. Beach Library Fund. Coverage: 1789-Present. Full text.
More Subject Specific Databases
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. Includes working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full-Text.
Country Studies / Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Coverage: Current. Full-Text.
Making of the Modern World
Includes books, journals, pamphlets, essays, reports, correspondence, speeches, surveys. Content is in English and other languages. Provides historical access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West. Coverage: 1450 - 1963, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Peace Research Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, and peace psychology. Coverage: 1964-present. Citations Only.
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 to present. Citations Only.
A multi-disciplinary database of English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. Coverage: Mid 1990s-present. Full-Text.
Central and Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS)
A multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. Areas covered include business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history and sociology. Coverage: 2000-present. Full-Text.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Searches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Research and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some Full-Text.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
An index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Coverage: 1900-present. Citations Only.