DVDs & Streaming Films
Our DVD collection includes popular films, tv shows, and documentaries. near the Reference Area on the main floor of the library.
You can browse DVD the collection using the genere-specific links below, or on the DVD shelves near the Reference Area on the main level of the library.
We also have extensive streaming film collections. Links are provided below.
Portable DVD Players
DVD playing devices are available for loan.
Ask at the library's Circulation Desk or contact circ@dickinson.edu for more information.
DVDs
Portable DVD players are available to borrow—request one at the Circulation Desk.
Barb & Star Go to Vista Del MarCall Number: DVD 8628
BarbieCall Number: DVD 8739
Beetlejuice BeetlejuiceLibrary also has original Beetlejuice movie.
The Boy and the HeronCall Number: DVD 8840
A Christmas StoryCall Number: DVD 3709
Deadpool and WolverineLibrary also has original Deadpool movie.
Die HardCall Number: DVD 2006
Everything Everywhere All at OnceCall Number: DVD 8742
Ghostbusters: AfterlifeCall Number: DVD 8620
Grand Budapest HotelCall Number: DVD 6867
The HoldoversCall Number: DVD 8841
Home AloneCall Number: DVD 4615
Knives OutCall Number: DVD 8740
Mavka: The Forest SongCall Number: DVD 8731
The Nightmare Before ChristmasCall Number: DVD 0218
NopeCall Number: DVD 8749
OppenheimerCall Number: DVD 8760
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten RingsCall Number: DVD 8602
The Super Mario Bros. MovieCall Number: DVD 8744
TwistersCall Number: DVD 8839
Wild RobotCall Number: DVD 8852
Portable DVD players are available to borrow—request one at the Circulation Desk.
Abbott Elementary, Seasons 1 & 2Call Number: DVD 8768
Atlanta, Comlpete First SeasonCall Number: DVD 8393
Black Lightning, Complete First SeasonCall Number: DVD 8399
Firefly, The Complete SeriesCall Number: DVD 3584
The Gilded Age, Complete First SeasonCall Number: DVD 8764
The Good Place, The Complete SeriesCall Number: DVD 8820
Jane the Virgin, Complete First SeasonCall Number: DVD 7331
Ted LassoCall Number: DVD 8843
Wednesday, Season 1Call Number: DVD 8835
Film Streaming Collections at Dickinson Library
- Academic Video Online (AVON) Streaming This link opens in a new window
Approximately 85,000 streaming film videos in diverse subject areas, with 3,500 new videos added each year. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations/training videos, as well as award-winning films and archival material.
Films available in Academic Video Online have limited public performance rights (except for FILM PLATFORM videos), which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
Sony Pictures Classics films are unavailable for users located outside of the U.S. due to distribution restrictions. Coverage: contains primary sources, varies. Full text. - Films on Demand Streaming This link opens in a new windowView streaming films from across the disciplines, including HBO documentaries. Search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming films, including online newsreels, archival films, and documentaries covering United States history. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1894-2015, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1949-2021, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of performances, documentaries, interviews and instructional videos for studying modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, dance history and more. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1960s-2010s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries, interviews, archival footage and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture, civil rights, and other issues. This collection is part of AVON: Academic Video Online, but may be searched separately. It may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1970-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.