Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding and Selecting High Quality Open Educational Resources
Finding useful Open Educational Resources takes time and can be challenging. This 60-minute webinar provides some helpful advice for searching. You are also encouraged to contact your
liaison librarian for help.
Open Textbook Library
All textbooks in this library must be currently in use at multiple higher education institutions, or affiliated with a higher education institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Reviews in the Open Textbook Library are by faculty around the country, collected to provide faculty evaluations for faculty, by faculty.
Provides free online and inexpensive print textbooks. Books are developed using traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer-review, and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who wish to customize for their course.
MIT Open Textbooks
An index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Provides links to course or resource pages that contain the textbook files.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open textbooks written and curated by the State University of New York (SUNY) system.
Ohio State Affordable Learning Exchange
Open textbooks created by Ohio State faculty.
A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
An open access textbook publishing initiative established by Portland State University library.
Boundless produced open textbooks but ceased production in 2017. Their content is now archived by Lumen Learning.
A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group-written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
Find the full text of classics and public domain works.
Some books presented in this mass conglomeration of scanned books are fully available, most are excerpted.
American Institute of Mathematics
A list of open textbooks in various subdisciplines of Mathematics approved by the AIM editorial board.
Aviation Handbooks and Manuals
Open Textbooks on Aviation from the Federal Aviation Administration (US).
Free medical textbooks.
Lyryx Open Textbooks
Lyryx offers high-quality open textbooks in the fields of accounting, mathematics, and economics. They also have optional added (paid) resources such as homework and quizzes to accompany the open textbooks.
Bloomsbury is a well-respected and longtime UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education. Open collections are separated by year.
OER by Subject
Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more from leading institutions.
OER Resources by Subject
These are Google Docs made by Portland Community College librarians in response to requests for help from instructors.
OER by Discipline (Virginia Tech)
This guide from Virginia Tech University Libraries provides links to a variety of OER organized by discipline.
OER by Subject (University of New Hampshire)
This guide from the University of New Hampshire provides links to a variety of OER organized by discipline.
Discipline-Specific Resources (University of Houston-Victoria)
This guide points to the largest, most popular repositories of Open Educational Resources separated by subject. It also includes subject-dedicated pages featuring textbooks, supplemental materials, and video lectures.
A large user friendly OER search engine that allows for users to search by subject or by course material type (e.g. textbooks, simulations, audio).
Mason OER Metafinder
This search engine from George Mason University is connected to 16 major OER repositories in real-time.
This repository is one of the biggest and more famous places to find and share teaching resources.
Large repository of individual teachers' content, some courses and, lots of modular writings about a variety of topics.
This resource seeks to collect and distribute a variety of OER at a variety of levels and subjects.
Florida's collection of Open Educational Resources.
Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis (QUBES)
This repository contains learning materials, software, data, and models for teaching quantitative skills in undergraduate biology courses.
Open educational materials for K-12.
Materials in the Applied Math and Science Educational Repository are free for use and adaptation. Most resources are at the high school and community college levels.
Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer-evaluated websites.
Community of Online Research Assignments
Open resource for faculty and librarians about Research Assignments.
This blog-formatted repository seeks to bring together free resources on culture and education.
Open Course Materials
This site provides full-length lectures and videos from instructors at such institutions as Yale, Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, and Stanford.
This site provides language learning materials, including online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc.
Large library of MOOCs, some of which have material freely licensed for reuse.
Library of college-level courses from a variety of high-profile universities. Some course materials are freely licensed for reuse.
LearningSpace from Open University
All of the learning materials presented on this site are CC licensed.
Open Course Library
The WA Open Course Library project offers 81 of Washington’s most enrolled courses. There are a lot of great readings in these course files.