Introduction
This page provides resources for students pursuing the Physics-Engineering track or 3:2 program in preparation for a career in the engineering field. For more information on these programs, please see the Physics & Astronomy departmental website.
The Library of Congress Classification System is the call number system utilized for organizing and locating library resources. Call numbers for some of the most popular types of engineering are presented below. For additional areas or a fine grained classification, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
- Q is General Science
- QC is Physics - Science
- T is Technology
- TA is Civil Engineering
- TD is Environmental Technology and Sanitary engineering
- TJ is Mechanical Engineering and Machinery
- TK is Electrical Engineering, Electronics, and Nuclear Engineering
- TP is Chemical Technology
Books
The library has many books on engineering, available through the Library Catalog. Some representative titles are presented below. To find more books on engineering, try browsing the call numbers listed above or doing a subject search in the catalog for the type of engineering you are interested in, such as:
- Civil engineering
- Mechanical engineering
- Irrigation engineering
- Electrical engineering
- Software engineering
You can also add a keyword to your search to narrow your results to a specific topic of interest, such as adding the keywords "oil spills" to a subject search for "Environmental engineering." Click here for more tips on choosing search terms.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia by
Extensively updated and revised, this outstanding reference remains the definitive scientific resource for both academic and professional environments
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia has long enjoyed a reputation as one of the most important comprehensive general scientific references available. Substantially revised to cover the many developments since the Eight Edition in 1994, this Ninth Edition ranges across all scientific disciplines as well as many areas of engineering and technology.
Topics covered include animal science, anatomy, astronomy, atmospheric science, chemistry, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, earth science, energy sources, information science, life science, materials, mathematics, mechanical engineering, medicine, mining, physics, physiology, planetary science, plant science, power technology, space science, structural engineering, and a host of other subjects.
Existing material has been extensively revised for this new edition, and numerous new articles bring the Encyclopedia up-to-date on the latest developments and state-of-the-art knowledge in every discipline. An expanded subject index makes information easier to find. An extensive revision program makes this series an important addition to personal as well as institutional libraries in both academic and industrial settings.
Call Number: REF Q121 .V3 2002ISBN: 0471332305Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
This compilation of 1200 entries, authored by a score of international scholars and contributors, reflects the impact that various peoples, their cultures, and other societal features like politics have on the environment. The first thing one observes is the sheer weight of the set and that this well-bound encyclopedia is printed on high-quality stock--something worth noting in the print-on-demand publishing world we live in today. The aesthetic quality is introduced in each volume with 20 full-color topographic and political maps of the continents, with more color maps, photographs, tables, and charts interspersed throughout. Edited by Robbins (geography, Univ. of Arizona), the author of textbooks and other scholarly material on similar subjects, the encyclopedia utilizes multiple access points, including a "reader's guide" (akin to a pathfinder) to each volume, a traditional A-to-Z article list, a list of resources, and an index with a large, easy-to-read typeface. Other enhancements include a chronology, a glossary, and a statistical appendix of the UN's main environmental indicators related to water, air, waste, and land, which are listed by country. Entries range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages; each concludes with See references and bibliographies that include web resources. Entries by country name (rather than eco-regions) will make assignments easier. BOTTOM LINE The introduction notes that this set is intended for North American readers, reflecting the larger impact of North American policies and practices worldwide. There's no denying that this is an encyclopedia, but rather than stodgy and dry, the voice of the text is lively and active. The topic is intelligently presented in a thoroughly approachable, authoritative, and complete format.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781849725552Publication Date: 2007
Energy from the Nucleus: The Science and Engineering of Fission and Fusion by
Nuclear energy is important both as a very large energy resource and as a source of carbon free energy. However incidents such as the Fukashima Daiichi nuclear disaster (2011), the Chernobyl disaster (1986), and the Three Mile Island accident (1979) have cast doubts on the future of nuclear fission as a major player in the future energy mix. This volume provides an excellent overview of the current situation regarding nuclear fission as well as a description of the enormous potential advantages offered by nuclear fusion including an essentially unlimited fuel supply with minimal environmental impact.Energy from the Nucleus focuses on the two main approaches to producing energy from the nucleus: fission and fusion. The chapters on nuclear fission cover the status of current and future generations of reactors as well as new safety requirements and the environmental impact of electricity production from nuclear fission. The chapters on nuclear fusion discuss both inertial confinement fusion and magnetic confinement fusion, including the new international fusion test facility, ITER. The expertise of the authors, who are active participants in the respective technologies, ensures that the information provided is both reliable and current. Their views will no doubt enlighten our understanding of the future of energy from the nucleus.
Call Number: TK9146 .E54 2016ISBN: 9789814689199Publication Date: 2017
Journals
The library provides access to many journals with engineering content. Some example titles are provided below. To find more, browse our Journals List via the "Engineering & Applied Sciences" option in the subject drop-down menu to see a list of journals categorized according by type of engineering, or enter "engineering" in the search box to see journals with that word in the title.
- Energy Science & EngineeringEnergy Science & Engineering is a peer reviewed, open access journal dedicated to fundamental and applied research on energy supply and use, including General Energy, Nuclear Energy, Fossil Fuels, Renewable Energy, Energy Storage, Power Engineering.
- International Journal Of Electronics, Communication And Soft Computing Science & EngineeringIJECSCSE is peer reviewed online journal with a key objective to provide the academic and industrial community a medium for presenting original cutting edge research related to computational intelligence and its applications which gains a foot hold in India and opens to the world.
It aims to promote the integration of Computer Science and Engineering, Information Technology, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Electronics and Telecommunication, Mechanical Engineering, and Civil Engineering. Submitted papers will be reviewed by core committees of IJECSCSE. - Journal of Chemical Technology and BiotechnologyJournal of Chemical Technology and Biotechnology(JCTB) is an international, inter-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal concerned with the application of scientific discoveries and advancements in chemical and biological technology that aim towards economically and environmentally sustainable industrial processes.
Databases
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowSearch mathematical literature and literature in computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems. Coverage: 1800 to present. Citations only.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowExplore research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, including engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management. This collection includes leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text, Jumpstart searchable.
- arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access openly available e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. These articles have NOT necessarily been formally published yet and may not be in their final form. E-prints in this archive have not been peer-reviewed by arXiv. Full text.
Useful Websites
- National Society of Professional EngineersNSPE membership gives engineers the tools and services they need to be better informed and better connected within their professional community through free courses, networking opportunities, and news.
