Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Music: Streaming Media, CDs, & Films

Guide to library materials for music research

Streaming Media

Our newest streaming audio database, Ethnographic Sound Archives Online, includes historical audio recordings and supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. Contains 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world.

Smithsonian Global Sound provides streaming access to world music archives and Smithsonian archives. It includes music from 169 countries and more than 1,400 ethnic groups representing over 450 languages.

Streaming audio is also available from the Naxos Music Library, which contains mostly classical music. With more than 140,000 CDs online, this Naxos database greatly augments our library's physical CD collection of 5,953 titles.

DRAM Music Online is an excellent complement to Naxos. DRAM includes a diverse collection of American music from the New World Records and CRI labels, as well as other unique and important recordings underrepresented by the commercial marketplace. Genres include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th to 21st century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.

Streaming videos on music are available from Films on Demand and Kanopy. (You have to log into Kanopy with your Gateway user name and password even if you are on campus.)

CDs

Our physical CDs and our videocassettes are not arranged by LC classification, and are not stored in publicly accessible shelves. Therefore, they can only be retrieved by searching the catalog and giving the call number to the staff member or student assistant at the Circulation Desk (library main level).

For example, a recording of Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima is listed in the catalog as:

CD1553      1 CD (Music)       Circulation Desk

Just give the call number (CD1553) to the person at the circulation desk, and they will get the CD for you.

Films

Our DVD cases are filed alphabetically on display shelves for browsing on the main level. (The actual discs are kept behind the circulation desk.) You can also search for DVDs in the catalog or on the Film Search page. Either way, retrieve the cases from the display shelves, and take them to the circulation to check out. Videocassettes are also in the catalog, but their cases are not on display. Just ask for them at the circulation desk by their call numbers.

Similar to CDs, our DVDs have DVD numbers, and videocassettes have VT numbers.

DVD2062 Amadeus (a feature film on DVD)

VT1104 Arnold Schoenberg : my evolution (a documentary film on videocassette)

Operas on 12-inch video laserdisc in the Music Department (Weiss 212) Part 1 (A-M)

Operas on 12-inch video laserdisc are shelved alphabetically by composer in the music department, Weiss Center, room 212, and must be viewed there. Please contact the music department (717-245-1568 or music@dickinson.edu) for access to room 212. These laserdiscs were a gift of John M. Kohlmeier, Dickinson College class of 1956.

Composer Title Performers
Anthology 3 tenors in concert 1994 José Carreras, Plácido Domingo, Luciano Pavarotti, tenors ; Los Angeles Philharmonic ; Los Angeles Music Center Opera Chorus ; Zubin Mehta, conductor.
Anthology Art of singing Kirk Browning, Schuyler Chapin, Thomas Hampson, Giovanni Martinelli, Magda Olivero, Nicola Rescigno, Risë Stevens, Jon Vickers.
Anthology Carreras, Domingo, Pavarotti in concert Jose Carreras, Placido Domingo, Luciano Pavarotti ; Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestra del Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, conducted by Zubin Mehta.
Anthology Evening with Joan Sutherland and Luciano Pavarotti Joan Sutherland, soprano ; Luciano Pavarotti, tenor ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; David Stivender, chorus master ; Richard Bonynge, conductor.
Anthology Gala evening Montserrat Caballé ; Felicity Lott ; Ruggero Raimondi ; Kim Begley ; Benjamin Luxon ;  Frederica von Stade ; Glyndebourne Chorus ; David Angus, chorus director ; The London Philharmonic ; Andrew Davis and Bernard Haitink, conductors.
Anthology Gala lirica José Carreras ; Montserrat Caballé ; Plácido Domingo ; Teresa Berganza ; Alfredo Kraus ; Pedro Lavirgen ; Juan Pons ; Giacomo Aragall ; Pilar Lorengar ; Orquesta Sinfónica de Sevilla, various conductors.
Anthology Hommage a Sevilla Placido Domingo, tenor ; Victoria Vergara, soprano ; Virginia Alonso, mezzo-soprano ; Vienna Symphony Orchestra ; James Levine, Placido Domingo (1st work) conductors.
Anthology Joan Sutherland gala farewell Joan Sutherland ; Amanda Thane ; Suzanne Johnston ; Anson Austin ; John Pringle ; Clifford Grant ; John Wegner ; Australian Opera Chorus ; Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra ; Australian Opera Dance Ensemble ; Richard Bonynge, conductor.
Anthology Kathleen Battle and Jessye Norman sing spirituals Kathleen Battle, Jessye Norman, sopranos ; Nancy Allen, harp ; Hubert Laws, flute ; Sylvia Olden Lee, piano ; Evelyn Simpson-Curenton, organ ; orchestra and chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Anthology Maria Callas at Covent Garden Maria Callas, soprano ; Orchestra and Chorus of The Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London ; Georges Prétre, conductor ; Carlo Felice Cillario (conductor on September 2, 1964).
Anthology Maria Callas, dèbuts á Paris, 19 décembre 1958 Maria Callas, soprano ; Jacques Mars, bass (2nd work) ; Albert Lance, tenor (3rd & 5th works) ; Tito Gobbi, baritone (5th work) ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Théâtre National de l'Opéra de Paris ; Georges Sebastian, conductor.
Anthology Metropolitan Opera Gala 1991 Mirella Freni ; Plácido Domingo ; Luciano Pavarotti ; Cheryl Studer ; Anne Sofie von Otter ; Barbara Daniels ; Justíno Diaz ; Leo Nucci ; Hermann Prey ; The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus, and Ballet ; James Levine, conducting.
Anthology Mozart: a childhood chronicle Pavlos Bekiaris, Marianne Lowitz and Karl-Maria Schley.
Bartók, Béla. Bluebeard's castle Sylvia Sass, as Judith ; Kolos Kováts as Bluebeard ; London Philharmonic Orchestra ; Georg Solti, conductor.
Bartók, Béla. Duke Bluebeard's castle Robert Lloyd ; Elizabeth Laurence ; London Philharmonic ; Adam Fischer, conductor.
Beethoven, Ludwig van. Fidelio Gabriela Beňačkova, Josef Protschka, Neill Archer, Marie McLaughlin, Robert Lloyd, Monte Pederson, Hans Tschammer, Lynton Atkinson, Mark Beesley, the Royal Opera Chorus, the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House.
Berg, Alban. Wozzeck Franz Grundheber, Hildegard Behrens, Aage Haugland, chorus and orchestra of the Vienna State Opera, Claudio Abbado, Conductor.
Berlioz, Hector. Troyens Tatiana Troyanos, Jessye Norman, Placido Domingo, Allan Monk, Paul Plishka ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; James Levine, conductor ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; Metropolitan Opera Ballet.
Bernstein, Leonard. Candide Jerry Hadley, June Anderson, Adolph Green, Christa Ludwig, Nicolai Gedda, Della Jones, Kurt Ollmann, London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra.
Bernstein, Leonard. On the town Betty Comden, Adolph Green, narrators ; Frederica von Stade (Claire), Tyne Daly (Hildy), Marie McLaughlin (Ivy), Thomas Hampson (Gabey), Kurt Ollman (Chip), David Garrison (Ozzie), Samuel Ramey (Pitkin), Evelyn Lear (Madame Dilly), Cleo Laine (Nightclub singer) ; London Voices ; London Symphony Orchestra ; Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor.
Bizet, Georges. Carmen Carmen, Grace Bumbry ; Don José, Jon Vickers ; Escamillo, Jsutino Diaz ; Micaëla, Mirella Freni ; Frasquita, Olivera Miljakovic ; Mercédès, Julia Hamari ; Moralès, Robert Kerns ; Zuniga, Anton Diakov ; Dancaïre, Kurt Equiluz ; Remendado, Milen Paunov ; Mariemma and the Ballet de España ; Wiener Staatsopernchor ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Bizet, Georges. Carmen Maria Ewing, Luis Lima, Leontina Vaduva, Gino Quilico, Judith Howarth, Jean Rigley, Roderick Earle, Christopher Booth-Jones, Bruno Caproni, Francis Egerton ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; the Royal Opera Chorus ; conductor, Zubin Mehta.
Bizet, Georges. Carmen Placido Domingo, Julia Migenes-Johnson, Ruggero Raimondi, Faith Esham ; Orchestre Nationale de France, Chorus and Children's Chorus of Radio-France, conducted by Lorin Maazel.
Bock, Jerry. Fiddler on the roof Topol, Norma Crane, Leonard Frey, Molly Picon, Paul Mann.
Boito, Arrigo. Mefistofele Samuel Ramey as Mefistofele ; Gabriela Benackova as Margherita and Elena ; Dennis O'Neill as Faust ; Judith Christin as Marta ; Emily Manhart as Pantalis ; Daniel Harper as Wagner ; Douglas Wunsch as Nereo ; San Francisco Opera ; Maurizio Arena, conductor.
Borodin, Aleksandr Porfirʹevich. Prince Igor Boris Khmelnitsky (Prince Igor, sung by V. Kiniayev) ; Nelly Pshennaya (Princess Yaroslavna, sung by T. Milashkina) ; B. Tokarev (Vladimir B. Tokarev, sung by V. Noreika) ; Bimibulat Vatayev (Konchak, sung by Y. Nestaranko) ; Ballet, Chorus, and Orchestra of the Kirov Theater ; Gennady Provatoro, conductor.
Borodin, Aleksandr Porfirʹevich. Prince Igor Sergei Leiferkus, Prince Igor ; Anna Tomowa-Sintow, Yaroslavna ; Alexei Steblianko, Vladimir ; Nicola Ghiuselev, Galitsky ; Elena Zaremba, Konchakovna ; Paata Burchuladze, Konchak ; Royal Ballet ; Royal Opera House Chorus and Orchestra, Bernard Haitink, conductor.
Britten, Benjamin. Albert Herring John Graham-Hall, Patricia Johnson, Alan Opie, Felicity Palmer, Jean Rigby, The Glyndebourne Chorus.
Britten, Benjamin. Billy Budd Thomas Allen, baritone ; Philip Langridge, tenor ; Richard Van Allan, bass ; English National Opera ; David Atherton, conductor.
Britten, Benjamin. Death in Venice Robert Tear, Alan Opie, Michael Chance; Glyndebourne Chorus; London Sinfonietta, conductor, Graeme Jenkins.
Britten, Benjamin. Midsummer night's dream Curt Applegren, James Bowman, Cynthia Buchan, Ileana Cotrubas, Ryland Davies, Dale Duesing, Felicity Lott, The Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra.
Britten, Benjamin. Peter Grimes Heather Harper, soprano; Jon Vickers, tenor; Norman Bailey, baritone; other soloists; The Royal Opera Chorus; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; Colin Davis, conductor.
Britten, Benjamin. Peter Grimes Peter Grimes, Philip Langridge ; Ellen Orford, Janice Cairns ; Captain Balstrode, Alan Opie ; English National Opera ; David Atherton, conductor.
Britten, Benjamin. Turn of the screw Helen Donath, soprano; Ava June, soprano; Robert Tear, tenor; Heather Harper, soprano; Lilian [sic] Watson, soprano; Michael Ginn, boy soprano; Philip Langridge, tenor; members of the Royal Opera House Orchestra, Covent Garden; Sir Colin Davis, conductor.
Brown, Nacio Herb. Singin'in the rain Gene Kelly, Donald O'Connor, Debbie Reynolds.
Cilèa, Francesco. Adriana Lecouvreur Mirella Freni, Peter Dvorsky, Fiorenzo Cossotto, Ivo Vinco ; Orchestra and Chorus of Teatro alla Scala, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Cimarosa, Domenico. Matrimonio segreto Barbara Daniels, soprano ; David Kubler, tenor ; Carlos Feller, Claudio Nicolai, basses ; other soloists ; Orchestra of the Drottningholm Court Theatre, Stockholm ; Hilary Griffiths, conductor.
Corigliano, John. Ghosts of Versailles Teresa Stratas, Renée Fleming, Tracy Dahl, Stella Zambalis, Judith Christin, Marilyn Horne, Jane Shaulis, Graham Clark, Peter Kazaras, Neil Rosenshein, Richard Drews, Gino Quilico, Håkan Hagegard, James Courtney, Ara Berbarian, Wilbur Pauley ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; Metropolitan Opera Ballet ; James Levine, conductor.
Debussy, Claude. Pelléas et Mélisande Alison Hagley, Neill Archer, Donald Maxwell, Kenneth Cox, Penelope Walker, Samuel Burkey, Peter Massocchi ; Orchestra and Chorus of Welsh National Opera, Pierre Boulez, conductor.
Debussy, Claude. Pelléas et Mélisande Colette Alliot-Lugaz, Francois Roux, José Van Dam, Jocelyne Taillon, Roger Soyer, Francois Golfier, Rene Schrrer, Franck Morazzani.
Delius, Frederick. Village Romeo and Juliet Helen Field, soprano; Arthur Davies, tenor; Thomas Hampson, Barry Mora, baritones; Stafford Dean, bass; other soloists; various actors and actresses; Arnold-Schönberg-Chor; ORF Symphonieorchester; Sir Charles Mackerras, conductor.
Donizetti, Gaetano. Elisir d'amore Angela Gheorghiu, soprano ; Roberto Alagna, tenor ; Roberto Scaltriti, baritone ; Simone Alaimo, bass ; Orchestre et Chœur de l'Opéra National de Lyon ; Evelino Pidò, conductor.
Donizetti, Gaetano. Elisir d'amore Judith Blegen ; Luciano Pavarotti ; Sesto Bruscantini ; Brent Ellis ; Louise Wohlafka ; Metropolitan Opera orchestra, chorus and ballet.
Donizetti, Gaetano. Elisir d'amore Kathleen Battle, Korliss Uecker, sopranos ; Luciano Pavarotti, tenor ; Juan Pons, Enzo Dara, basses ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Donizetti, Gaetano. Lucia di Lammermoor Joan Sutherland, Alfredo Kraus, Pablo Elvira, Paul Plishka, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus.
Donizetti, Gaetano. Lucrezia Borgia Joan Sutherland (Lucrezia Borgia) ; Alfredo Kraus (Gennaro) ; Anne Howells (Maffio Orsini) ; Stafford Dean (Alfonso d'Este) ; The Chorus and Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Richard Bonynge, conductor.
Gay, John. Beggar's opera Roger Daltrey, Carol Hall, Stratford Johns, Rosemary Ashe, Patricia Routledge ; English Baroque Soloists ; John Eliot Gardiner, conductor.
Gershwin, George. Porgy and Bess Willard White, Cynthia Haymon, Gregg Baker, Cynthia Clarey, Marietta Simpson, Damon Evans, Paula Ingram, Gordon Hawkins ; the Glyndebourne Chorus ; Craig Rutenberg, chorus master ; The London Philharmonic ; Simon Rattle, conductor.
Giordano, Umberto. Andrea Chénier José Carreras, Piero Cappuccilli, Eva Marton.
Gluck, Christoph Willibald. Orfeo and Euridice Janet Baker (Orfeo) ; Elizabeth Gale (Amore) ; Elisabeth Speiser (Euridice) ; London Philharmonic Orchestra ; Glyndebourne Chorus.
Gluck, Christoph Willibald. Orfeo ed Euridice Jochen Kowalski (Orfeo) ; Jeremy Budd (Amor) ; Gillian Webster (Euridice) ; Jean-Pierre Blanchard (Orfeo double) ; William Edwards (Euridice double) ; The Royal Opera Chorus ; chorus director: Robin Stapleton ; The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; leader: John Brown ; conductor: Hartmut Haenchen.
Gounod, Charles. Romeo et Juliette Robert Alagna, Romeo ; Leotina Vaduva, Juliette ; other soloists ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House ; Charles Mackerras, conductor.
Handel Julius Caesar Valerie Masterson, soprano ; Janet Baker, Sarah Walker, Della Jones, mezzo-sopranos ; James Bowman, David James, countertenors ; John Kitchiner, baritone ; John Tomlinson, bass ; English National Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Sir Charles Mackerras, conductor.
Handel Xerxes Ann Murray (Xerxes) ; Valerie Masterson (Romilda) ; Christopher Robson (Arsamenes) ; Jean Rigby (Amastris) ; Lesley Garrett (Atalanta) ; Christopher Booth-Jones (Elviro) ; Rodney Macann (Ariodates) ; Chorus and Orchestra of the English National Opera ; Sir Charles Mackerras, conductor.
Herman, Jerry. Hello Dolly! Barbara Streisand, Walter Matthau, Michael Crawford.
Humperdinck, Engelbert. Hansel & Gretel Judith Blegen as Gretel ; Frederica von Stade as Hansel ; Jean Kraft as Gertrude ; Michael Devlin as Peter ; Diane Kesling as the sandman ; Betsy Norden as the dewfairy ; Rosalind Elias as the witch ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; Thomas Fulton, conductor.
Humperdinck, Engelbert. Hansel and Gretel Judith Blegen (Gretel) ; Frederica von Stade (Hansel) ; Rosalind Elias (The Witch) ; Jean Kraft (Gertrude) ; Michael Devlin (Peter) ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus, and Ballet ; Thomas Fulton, conductor.
Humperdinck, Engelbert. Hänsel und Gretel Brigitte Fassbaender (Hänsel) ; Edita Gruberova (Gretel) ; Hermann Prey (Vater) ; Helga Dernesch (Mutter) ; Sena Jurinac (Hexe) ; Wiener Sängerknaben ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Knussen, Oliver. Where the wild things are Karen Beardsley, soprano (1st work) ; Mary King (1st work), Cynthia Buchan (2nd work), mezzo-sopranos ; Glyndebourne Festival Opera ; London Sinfonietta ; Oliver Knussen, conductor.
Leoncavallo, Ruggiero. Pagliacci (Franco Zeffirelli's) Teresa Stratas (Nedda); Plácido Domingo (Canio); Florindo Andreolli (Peppe); Juan Pons (Tonio); Alberto Rinaldi (Silvio); other soloists; Coro & Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala; Georges Prêtre, conductor.
Loewe, Frederick. Brigadoon Gene Kelly, Van Johnson, Cyd Charisse.
Loewe, Frederick. My fair lady Audrey Hepburn, Rex Harrison.
Mascagni, Pietro. Cavalleria rusticana Elena Obraztsova, Placido Domingo, Renato Bruson, other soloists; Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala ; George Prêtre, conductor.
Mascagni, Pietro. Cavalleria rusticana Fiorenza Cossotto, Gianfranco Cecchele (1st work) ; Jon Vickers, Raina Kabaivanska, Rolando Panerai (2nd work) ; Chorus and Orchestra of Teatro alla Scala.
Massenet, Jules. Manon Beverly Sills, soprano ; Henry Price, tenor ; Richard Fredricks, baritone ; Samuel Ramey, bass ; New York City Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Julius Rudel, conductor.
Massenet, Jules. Manon Jennifer Penney, Anthony Dowell, with others ; with the Royal Ballet, Ashley Lawrence, conductor ; choreography, Kenneth MacMillan.
Menotti, Gian Carlo. Telephone Carole Farley, soprano ; Russell Smythe, baritone (1st work) ; Scottish Chamber Orchestra ; José Serebrier, conductor.
Meyerbeer, Giacomo. Africaine Plácido Domingo (Vasco da Gama) ; Shirley Verrett (Sélika) ; Ruth Ann Swenson (Inès) ; Justino Díaz (Nelusko) ; Michael Devlin (Don Pedro) ; Philip Skinner (Don Diego) ; Chorus, Ballet and Orchestra of the San Francisco Opera ; Maurizio Arena, conductor.
Monteverdi, Claudio. Incoronazione di Poppea Rachel Yakar, Eric Tappy, Trudeliese Schmidt, Paul Esswood, Janet Perry ; Monteverdi Ensemble of Zurich Opera House.
Monteverdi, Claudio. Orfeo Philippe Huttenlocher, Orfeo; Dietlinde Turban, Euridice; Trudeliese Schmidt, Musica/Speranza; Roland Hermann, Apollo; Glenys Linos, Messagiera/Proserpina; Werner Gröschel, Plutone; Hans Franzen, Caronte; Suzanne Calabro, Ninfa; Ballett und Chor Opernhauses Zürich; Monteverdi-Ensemble des Opernhauses Zürich; Nikolaus Harnoncurt, conductor.
Monteverdi, Claudio. Ritorno d'Ulisse in Patria Thomas Allen ; Kathleen Kuhlmann ; James King ; Manfred Schenk ; Delores Ziegler ; Alejandro Ramirez ; Robert Tear ; Tölzer Boys Choir ; Ensemble Spinario ; ORF Symphony Orchestra ; Jeffrey Tate, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Amadeus (Peter Schaffer's) F. Murray Abraham, Tom Hulce, Elizabeth Berridge, Simon Callow, Roy Dotrice, Christine Ebersole, Jeffrey Jones, Charles Kay ; Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields ; Academy Chorus of St. Martin-in-the-Fields ; Ambrosian Opera Chorus ; the Choristers of Westminster Abbey ; the Twyla Tharp Dance Company.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Clemenza di Tito Diana Montague (Sesto) ; Ashley Putnam (Vitellia) ; Martine Mahé (Annio) ; Philip Langridge (Tito) ; Elzbieta Szmytka (Servilia) ; Peter Rose (Publio) ; Glyndebourne Chorus ; London Philharmonic ; Andrew Davis, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte Amanda Roocroft (Fiordiligi) ; Rosa Mannion (Dorabella) ; Rainer Trost (Ferrando) ; Rodney Gilfry (Gugliemo) ; Eirian James (Despina) ; Claudio Nicolai (Don Alfonso) ; Monteverdi Choir ; English Baroque Soloists ; John Eliot Gardiner, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte Daniela Dessi, Delores Ziegler, Jozef Kundlak, Alessandro Corbelli, Adelina Scarabelli, Claudio Desderi.;0\$aOrchestra and Chorus of Teatro alla Scala ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte Fiordiligi, Edita Gruberova ; Dorabela, Delores Ziegler ; Ferrando, Luis Lima ; Gugliemo, Ferruccio Furlanetto ; Despina, Teresa Stratas ; Don Alfonso, Paolo Montarsolo ; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor ; Wiener Philharmoniker.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni Edita Gruberova (Donna Anna) ; Ann Murray (Donna Elvira) ; Francisco Araiza (Don Ottavio) ; Thomas Allen (Don Giovanni) ; Claudio Desderi (Leporello) ; Sergej Koptchak (Il commendatore) ; Orchestra and chorus of Teatro alla Scala ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni Eugene Perry, Don Giovanni ; Herbert Perry, Leporello ; Dominique Labelle (Donna Anna) ; Lorraine Hunt, Donna Elvira ; Carroll Freeman, Don Ottavio ; James Patterson (Commendatore) ; Ai Lan Zhu (Zerlina) ; Elmore James (Masetto) ; Arnold-Schönberg-Chor ; Wiener Symphoniker ; Craig Smith, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni Håken Hagegård ; Bengt Rundgren ; Helena Döse ; Gösta Winbergh ; Birit Nordin ; Erik Saedén ; Tord Wallström ; Anita Soldh ; chorus & orchestra of the Drottningholm Court Theater ; Arnold Östman, conductor ; Göran Järvefelt, stage director ; Thomas Olofsson, video director.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni Ruggero Raimondi ; Edda Moser ; John Macurdy ; Kiri Te Kanawa ; Kenneth Riegel ; Jose Van Dam ; Teresa Berganza ; Malcolm King ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Paris Opera ; Lorin Maazel, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Entfuhrung aus dem Serail Emmerich Schaffer, Aga Winska, Elisabet Hellstrom, Richard Croft, Bengt-Ola Morgny, Tamas Szule ; Drottningholm Court Theatre Chorus and Orchestra ; Arnold Ostman, director.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Entführung aus dem Serail Edita Gruberova ; Reri Grist ; Francisco Araiza ; Norbert Orth ; Martti Talvela ; Chor und Orchester der Bayerischen Staatsoper ; Karl Böhm, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Entführung aus dem Serail Inga Nielsen, Lillian Watson, sopranos; Deon van der Walt, Lars Magnusson, tenors; Kurt Moll, bass; Oliver Tobias, speaking part; Royal Opera Chorus; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Finta giardiniera Stuart Kale ; Britt-Marie Aruhn ; Richard Croft ; Eva Pilat ; Annika Skoglund ; Ann Christine Biel ; Petteri Salomaa ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Drottningholm Court Theatre ; Arnold Östman, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Idomeneo Luciano Pavarotti ; Ilena Cotrubas ; Hildegard Behrens ; Frederica Von Stade ; John Alexander ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Magic flute (Ingmar Bergman's) Ulric [sic] Cold, Josef Köstlinger, Erik Sædén, Birgit Nordin, Irma Urrila, Hakan Hagegard.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Magic flute (Ingmar Bergman's) Ulrik Cold, Josef Köstlinger, Eric Saeden, Birgit Nordin, Irma Urrila.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Mitridate, rè di Ponto Bruce Ford, Mitridate ; Ann Murray, Sifare ; Jochen Kowalski, Farnace ; Luba Orgonasova, Aspasia ; Lillian Watson, Ismene ; Jacquelyn Fugelle, Arbate ; Justin Lavender, Marzio ; the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; leader, Bradley Creswick ; conductor, Paul Daniel.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro Georgine Resick (Susanna); Sylvia Lindenstrand (La Contessa di Almaviva); Ann Christine Biel (Cherubino); Mikael Samuelsson (Figaro); Per Arne Wahlgren (Il Conte di Almaviva); Chorus and Orchestra of the Drottningholm Court Theatre; Arnold Östman, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro Mirella Freni ; Kiri Te Kanawa ; Maria Ewing ; Hermann Prey ; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau ; supporting soloists ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Karl Böhm, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro Rodney Gilfry as Count Almaviva, Hellevi Martinpelto as Countess Almaviva, Bryn Terfel as Figaro, Alison Hagley as Susanna, Pamela Helen Stephen as Cherubino, Susan McCullouch as Marcellina, Carlos Feller as Bartolo, The Monteverdi Choir, The English Baroque Soloists, directed by John Eliot Gardiner.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro Ruggero Raimondi (Count Almaviva), Cheryl Studer (Countess Almaviva), Marie McLaughlin (Susanna), Lucia Gallo (Figaro), Chor der Wiener Staatsoper, Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper, Claudio Abbado, conducting.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Zauberflöte Ann Christine Biel ; Stefan Dahlberg ; Mikael Samuelsson ; László Polgár ; Birgit Lousie Frandsen ; Birgitta Larsson ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Drottningholm Theatre ; Arnold Östman, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Zauberflöte Christiane Oelze, Michael Schade, Cyndia Sieden, Gerald Finley, Harry Peeters ; Pilobolus Dance Theatre ; The Monteverdi Choir ; The English Baroque Soloists.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Zauberflöte Kathleen Battle, Luciana Serra, Francisco Araiza, Manfred Hamm, Kurt Moll, Barbara Kilduff, Heina Zednik, Andreas Schmidt ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Zauberflöte Lucia Popp ; Edita Gruberova ; Francisco Araiza ; Wolfgang Brendel ; Kurt Moll ; Chor und Orchester der Bayerischen Staatsoper ; Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich. Boris Godunov Evgeny Nesterenko, Boris Godunov; Vladislav Piavko, Grigory; Tamara Sinyavskaya, Marina Mnishek; the Bolshoi Opera Chorus and Orchestra; Alexander Lazarev, conductor.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich. Boris Godunov Olga Borodina, soprano ; Alexei Steblianko, tenor ; Robert Lloyd, Sergei Leiferkus, basses ; other soloists ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Kirov Opera ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich. Khovanshchina Nicolai Ghiaurov (Prince Igor Khovansky) ; Vladimir Atlantov (Prince Andrey Khovansky) ; Yuri Marusin (Prince Vassily Golitsin) ; Anatoly Kocherga (Shaklovity) ; Paata Burchuladze (Dosifey) ; Ludmilla Semtschuk (Marfa) ; Vienna State Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Slovak Philharmonic Chorus from Bratislava ; Vienna Boys' Choir.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich. Khovanshchina Olga Borodina, mezzo-soprano ; Yuri Marusin, Constantin Pluzhnikov, tenors ; Viacheslav Trofimov, baritone ; Bulat Minjelkiev, Nikolai Okhotnikov, basses ; Kirov Orchestra, Opera Chorus and Ballet ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich. Khovanshchina Yevgeni Nesterenko, Irina Arkhipova, Alexander Vedernikov, Evgeny Raikov, Vladislav Romanovsky ; Bolshoi Theatre Chorus and Orchestra ; Yuri Simonov, conductor.

Operas on 12-inch video laserdisc in the Music Department (Weiss 212) Part 2 (N-Z)

Operas on 12-inch video laserdisc are shelved alphabetically by composer in the music department, Weiss Center, room 212, and must be viewed there. Please contact the music department (717-245-1568 or music@dickinson.edu) for access to room 212. These laserdiscs were a gift of John M. Kohlmeier, Dickinson College class of 1956.

Composer Title Performers
Offenbach, Jacques. Brigands Michel Trempont, Valerie Chevalier, Colete Alliot-Lugaz, Riccardo Cassinelli, Jean-Luc Maurette.
Offenbach, Jacques. Contes d'Hoffmann Daniel Galvez-Vallejo, José Van Dam, Gabriel Bacquier, Jacques Verzier, Natalie Dessay, Barbara Hendricks, Isabelle Vernet, Brigitte Balleys, Helene Jossoud, Lisette Malidor ; Opera and Chorus of L'Opera de Lyon, conductor, Kent Nagano.
Offenbach, Jacques. Tales of Hoffmann Placido Domingo, as Hoffmann, with supporting soloists ; Royal Opera ; Georges Prêtre, conductor.
Offenbach, Jacques. Vie Parisienne Helene Delvault, Claire Wauthion, Isabelle Mazin, Jean-Yves Chatelais ; Orchestra and chorus of the Lyon Opera
Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista. Frate 'nnamorato Allessandro Corbelli (Marcaniello) ; Nuccia Focile (Ascanio ; Amelia Felle (Nena) ; Bernadette Manca Di Nissa (Nina) ; Luciana D'Intino (Luggrezia) ; Ezio Di Cesare (Carlo) ; Elizabeth Norberg-Schulz (Vannella) ; Nicoletta Curiel (Cardella) ; Bruno De Simone (Don Pietro) ; Luca Bonini (The swordsman)
Ponchielli, Amilcare. Gioconda Placido Domingo, Eva Marton, Matteo Manuguerra, Ludmila Semtschuk, Kurt Rydl, Margarita Lilowa.
Porter, Cole. High society Bing Crosby, Grace Kelly, Frank Sinatra.
Prokofiev, Sergey. Fiery angel Sergei Leiferkus, Galina Gorchakova ; St. Petersburg Mariinsky Acrobatic Troupe ; Kirov Chorus and Orchestra ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Prokofiev, Sergey. Love of three oranges Gabriel Bacquier (King of Clubs) ; Jean-Luc Viala (the prince) ; Hélène Perraguin (Princess Clarissa) ; Vincent Texier (Leandro) ; Georges Gautier (Truffaldino) ; Didier Henry (Pantaloon/Farfarello) ; Gregory Reinhart (Tchélio) ; Michèle Lagrange (Fata Morgana) ; Catherine Dubosc (Ninetta) ; Brigette Fournier (Nicoletta) ; Jules Bastin (the cook) ; Beatrice Uria-Monzon (Smeraldina) ; Lyon Opera Chorus ; Lyon Opera conducted by Kent Nagano.
Prokofiev, Sergey. Love of three oranges Willard White (the king) ; Ugo Benelli (Truffaldino) ; Colette Alliot-Lugaz (Princess Ninetta) ; Ryland Davies (the prince) ; Glyndebourne Festival Chorus ; London Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Bernard Haitink.
Prokofiev, Sergey. War and peace Alexandr Gergalov ; Yelena Prokina ; Gegam Gregoriam ; Olga Borodina ; Yuri Marusin ; Nikolai Okhotnikov ; Vassily Gerelo ; Irina Bogachova ; Alexander Morozov ; Kirov Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Bohème Featuring Cheryl Baker, David Hobson, Roger Lemke, Christine Douglas, Gary Rowley, David Lemke ; the Australian Opera Chorus ; the Australian Opera Children's Chorus ; Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra ; Julian Smith, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Bohème Ileana Cotrubas, Neil Shicoff, and other members of the Royal Opera ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; conductor Lamberto Gardelli ; Royal Opera Chorus.
Puccini, Giacomo. Bohème Mirella Freni ; Luciano Pavarotti ; Gino Quilico ; Nicolai Ghiaurov ; San Francisco Opera ; San Francisco Opera Orchestra, Tiziano Severini, conductor ; San Francisco Opera Chorus, Ian Robertson, chorus director.
Puccini, Giacomo. Bohème Mirella Freni, Adriana Martino, Gianni Raimondi, Rolando Panerai, Gianni Maffeo, Ivo Vinco, Carlo Badioli, soloists ; Orchestra e Coro del Teatro alla Scala ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor ; Franco Zeffirelli, stage production and set design.
Puccini, Giacomo. Bohème Teresa Stratas, Renata Scotto, Josè Carreras. Richard Stilwell, Allan Monk, James Morris, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Metropolitan Opera Chorus.
Puccini, Giacomo. Fanciulla del West Barbara Daniels, soprano ; Plácido Domingo, Anthony Lacuira, tenors ; Sherrill Milnes, baritone ; Julien Robbins, bass ; supporting soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; Leonard Slatkin, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Fanciulla del West Carol Neblett ; Placido Domingo ; Silvano Carroli ; supporting soloists ; Chorus & Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Nello Santi, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Fanciulla del West Placido Domingo, Sergio Bertocchi, tenors ; Mara Zampieri, soprano ; Juan Pons, baritone ; Luigi Roni, bass ; Orchestra and chorus of Teatro alla Scala ; Lorin Maazel, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Gianni Schicchi (see Trittico) Sylvia Sass, Rosalind Plowright, Cecilia Gasdia, sopranos ; Dunja Vejzovich, mezzo-soprano ; Piero Cappuccilli, tenor ; Juan Pons, baritone ; other soloists ; Teatro alla Scala orchestra, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Madama Butterfly Mirella Freni, Madama Butterfly; Plácido Domingo, B.F. Pinkerton; Christa Ludwig, Suzuki; Robert Kerns, Sharpless; Michel Sénéchal, Goro; Marius Rintzler, il Bonzo; Elke Schary, Kate Pinkerton; Giorgio Stendoro, il principe Yamadori; Wiener Philharmoniker; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Madama Butterfly Yasuko Hayashi (Madama Butterfly) ; Hak-Nam Kim (Suzuki) ; Peter Dvorsky (Pinkerton) ; Giorgio Zancanaro (Sharpless) ; Chorus and Orchestra of La Scala, Milan ; Giulio Bertola, chorus master ; Lorin Maazel, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Manon Lescaut Conductor, James Levine; Renata Scotto, Isola Jones, Renato Capecchi, Mario Bertolino, Pablo Elvira.
Puccini, Giacomo. Manon Lescaut Kiri te Kanawa, Plácido Domingo, Thomas Allen, The Royal Opera Chorus and Orchestra.
Puccini, Giacomo. Suor Angelica (see Trittico) Sylvia Sass, Rosalind Plowright, Cecilia Gasdia, sopranos ; Dunja Vejzovich, mezzo-soprano ; Piero Cappuccilli, tenor ; Juan Pons, baritone ; other soloists ; Teatro alla Scala orchestra, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Tabarro (see Trittico) Sylvia Sass, Rosalind Plowright, Cecilia Gasdia, sopranos ; Dunja Vejzovich, mezzo-soprano ; Piero Cappuccilli, tenor ; Juan Pons, baritone ; other soloists ; Teatro alla Scala orchestra, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Tosca Hildegard Behrens, Plácido Domingo, Cornell MacNeil, Italo Tajo, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Metropolitan Opera Chorus.
Puccini, Giacomo. Tosca Placido Domingo, tenor ; Catherine Malfitano, soprano ; Ruggero Raimondi, baritone ; Orchestra Sinfonica e coro di Roma della RAI : Zubin Mehta, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Tosca Raina Kabaivanska, Luciano Pavarotti, Inguar Wixell, Coro e orchestra del Teatro dell'Opera, Roma, Daniel Oren, conducting.
Puccini, Giacomo. Tosca Raina Kabaivanska, Tosca; Placido Domingo, Cavaradossi; Sherrill Milnes, Scarpia; with supporting soloists; Ambrosian Singers; New Philharmonia Orchestra of London; Bruno Bartoletti, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Trittico (Il tabarro ; Suor Angelica ; Gianni Schicchi) Sylvia Sass, Rosalind Plowright, Cecilia Gasdia, sopranos ; Dunja Vejzovich, mezzo-soprano ; Piero Cappuccilli, tenor ; Juan Pons, baritone ; other soloists ; Teatro alla Scala orchestra, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Turandot Eva Marton ; Plácido Domingo ; Leona Mitchell ; Paul Plishka ; James Levine ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus and Orchestra.
Puccini, Giacomo. Turandot Eva Marton, soprano ; Michael Sylvester, tenor ; supporting soloists ; San Francisco Opera ; Donald Runnicles, conductor.
Puccini, Giacomo. Turandot Ghena Dimitrova, Nicola Martinucci, Cecilia Gasdia, Ivo Vinco.
Ravel, Maurice. Enfant et les sortilèges Nederlands Dans Theater ; Orchestre National, Paris ; Choeur et la maitrise de la RTF ; conductor, Lorin Maazel.
Ravel, Maurice. Heure espagnole & L'enfant et les sortilèges Anna Steiger (Concepcion), François le Roux (Ramiro), Remy Corazza (Torquemada), Thierry Dran (Gonzalve), François Loup (Don Inigo Gomez) (1st work). Cynthia Buchan (Child), Fiona Kimm (Mother), Harolyn Blackwell (Princess) (2nd work).
Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay. Mlada Nina Ananiashvili, Oleg Kulko, Maria Gavrilova ; Bolshoi Ballet ; Bolshoi Symphony Orchestra and Chorus ; Alexander Lazarev, conductor.
Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay. Sadko Vladimir Galusin, Marianna Tarassova, Sergei Alexashkin, Valentina Tsidipova, Larissa Diadkova, Kirov Chorus, Ballet and Orchestra, St. Petersburg.
Rodgers, Richard. Carousel Gordon MacRae, Shirley Jones, Cameron Mitchell, Barbara Ruick.
Rodgers, Richard. King and I Deborah Kerr, Yul Brynner, Rita Moreno.
Rodgers, Richard. Oklahoma! Gordon Macrae, Gloria Grahame, Shirley Jones, Gene Nelson, Charlotte Greenwood, Eddie Albert.
Rodgers, Richard. Sound of music Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Richard Haydn, Peggy Wood, Eleanor Parker, Charmian Carr, The Bil Baird Marionettes.
Rodgers, Richard. South Pacific Mitzi Gaynor, Rossano Brazzi, John Kerr, Ray Walston, Juanita Hall, France Nuyen, Russ Morgan, Jack Mullaney, Ken Clark, Floyd Simmons.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Barber of Seville Beverly Sills; Henry Price; Alan Titus; Donald Gramm; Samuel Ramey ; New York City Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Sarah Caldwell, conductor and stage director.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Barber of Seville Maria Ewing, John Rawnsley, Max-René Cosotti, Claudio Desderi, Ferruccio Furlanetto, Robert Dean, Catherine McCord, Hugh Davies, soloists ; Glyndebourne Chorus under the direction of Jane Glover ; London Philharmonic Orchestra ; Stephen Wilder, harpsichord continuo ; Sylvain Cambreling, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Barbiere di Siviglia Cecilia Bartoli, Gino Quilico, David Kuebler, Robert Lloyd, Carlos Feller ; Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra ; Gabriele Ferro, conductor ; Cologne City Opera Chorus.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Barbiere di Siviglia Kathleen Battle (Rosina) ; Leo Nucci (Figaro) ; Rockwell Blake (Count Almaviva) ; Enzo Dara (Dr. Bartolo) ; Ferruccio Furlanetto (Don Basilio) ; Loretta Di Franco (Berta) ; David Hamilton (Fiorello) ; Edward Ghazal (Ambrogio) ; Charles Anthony (An officer) ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; Ralf Weikert, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Barbiere di Siviglia Luigi Alva (il conte d'Almaviva), Enzo Dara (Bartolo), Teresa Berganza (Rosina), Hermann Prey (Figaro), Paolo Montarsolo (Basilio); supporting soloists ; Orchestra and chorus of La Scala, Milan ; Claudio Abbado, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Cenerentola Angelina, Cecilia Bartoli ; Don Magnifico, Enzo Dara ; Don Ramiro, Raúl Ciménez ; Dandini, Alessandro Corbelli ; Alidoro, Michele Pertusi ; Houston Symphony ; Houston Grand Opera Chorus.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Cenerentola Frederica von Stade, Cenerentola ; Francisco Araiza, Dom Ramiro ; Paolo Montarsolo, Don Magnifico ; Margherita Guglielmi, Clorinda ; Claudio Desderi, Dandini ; Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala ; Claudio Abbado, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Cenerentola, ossia, bontà in trionfo Ann Murray ; Angela Denning ; Daphne Evangelatos ; Francisco Araiza ; Gino Quilico ; Walter Berry ; Wolfgang Schöne ; Chorus of the Vienna State Opera ; Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra ; Riccardo Chailly, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Gazza ladra Ileana Cotrubas ; Nucci Condò ; Carlos Feller ; David Kuebler ; Brent Ellis ; Alberto Rinaldi.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Italiana in Algeri Nuccia Focile, soprano ; Doris Soffel, contralto ; Robert Gambill, tenor ; Günther von Kannen, bass ; other soloists ; Bulgarian Male Chorus, Sofia ; Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra ; Ralf Weikert, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Semiramide June Anderson ; Stanford Olsen ; Marilyn Horne ; Samuel Ramey ; accompanying soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; James Conlon, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. Tancredi Bernadette Manca di Nissa ; Maria Bayo ; Raul Gimenez ; Ildebrando D'Arcangelo ; Katarzyna Bak ; Maria Pia Piscitelli ; Südfunk-Chor ; Radio Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart ; Gianluigi Gelmetti, conductor.
Rossini, Gioacchino. William Tell Giorgio Zancanaro, baritone ; Chris Merritt, tenor ; Cheryl Studer, soprano ; other soloists ; Orchestra, Chorus and Ballet of Teatro alla Scala, Milan ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Saint-Saëns, Camille. Samson et Dalila Shirley Verrett, alto ; Placido Domingo, tenor ; Wolfgang Brendel, baritone ; Chorus and Orchestra of the San Francisco Opera ; Julius Rudel, conductor.
Saint-Saëns, Camille. Samson et Dalila Shirley Verrett, mezzo-soprano; Jon Vickers, tenor; other soloists; Royal Opera Chorus; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; Colin Davis, conductor.
Strauss, Johann. Fledermaus Eberhard Wächter, Gabriel von Eisenstein; Pamela Coburn, Rosalinde; Benno Kusche, Frank; Brigitte Fassbaender, Prince Orlofsky; Josef Hopferwieser, Alfred; Wolfgang Brendel, Dr. Falke; Ferry Gruber, Dr. Blind; Janet Perry, Adele; Franz Muxeneder, Frosch; Ivan Unger, Ivan; Irene Steinbeisser, Ida; Bavarian State Opera; Bavarian State Orchestra; Carlos Kleiber, conductor.
Strauss, Johann. Fledermaus Hildegard Heichele, Kiri Te Kanawa, Dennis O'Neill, Hermann Prey, Paul Crook, Benjamin Luxon, Michael Langdon, Ingrid Baier, Doris Soffel, Richard Hazel, Josef Meinrad ; Royal Opera Chorus ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Placido Domingo, conductor.
Strauss, Johann. Fledermaus Nancy Gustafson, Judith Howarth, Louis Otey, Jochen Kowalski, Bonaventure Bottone, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Joan Sutherland, Luciano Pavarotti, Marilyn Horne, the Royal Opera Chorus, the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House.
Strauss, Richard. Arabella Gundula Janowitz, Bernd Weikl, René Kollo, Sona Ghazarian, Margarita Lilowa, Hans Kraemmer, Edita Gruberova ; Wiener Philharmoniker.
Strauss, Richard. Arabella Kiri Te Kanawa, Wolfgang Brendel, Marie McLaughlin, David Kuebler, Helga Dernesch, Donald McIntyre ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; Christian Thielemann, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Ariadne auf Naxos Jessye Norman, Primadonna/Ariadne; Kathleen Battle, Zerbinetta; Tatiana Troyanos, der Komponist; James King, der Tenor/Bacchus; Franz Ferdinand Nentwig, ein Musiklehrer; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra; James Levine, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Capriccio Kiri Te Kanawa (Countess) ; Håkan Hagegård (Count) ; Tatiana Troyanos (Clairon) ; Victor Braun (La Roche) ; David Kuebler (Flamand) ; Simon Keenlyside (Olivier) ; Michel Sénćhal (Monsieur Taupe) ; Dale Travis (Major-domo) ; San Francisco Opera Orchestra ; conducted by Donald Runnicles.
Strauss, Richard. Elektra Birgit Nilsson, Leonie Rysanek, Mignon Dunn, Robert Nagy, Donald McIntyre; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra; James Levine, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Elektra Eva Marton, Brigitte Fassbander, Cheryl Studer, Franz Grundheber, James King ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Vienna State Opera ; Claudio Abbado, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Elektra Leonie Rysanek as Elektra ; Astrid Varnay as Klytämnestra ; Catarina Ligendza as Chrysothemis ; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau as Orest ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Karl Böhm, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Frau ohne Schatten Cheryl Studer, Thomas Moser, Eva Marton, Robert Hale, Marjana Lipovśek, soloists ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Rosenkavalier Anna Tomowa-Sintow, Janet Perry, sopranos ; Agnes Baltsa, mezzo-soprano ; Kurt Moll, bass ; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor ; ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Rosenkavalier Felicity Lott, The Marschallin ; Kurt Moll, Baron Ochs ; Anne Sofie von Otter, Octavian ; Gottfried Hornik, Faninal ; Barbara Bonney, Sophie ; Olivera Miljakovic, Marianne ; other soloists ; Vienna State Opera Chorus and Orchestra ; Carlos Kleiber, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Rosenkavalier Gwyneth Jones, Brigitte Fassbaender, Lucia Popp, Manfred Jungwirth, Benno Kusche, Francisco Araiza, Bavarian State Opera Chorus and Bavarian State Orchestra ; Carlos Kleiber, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Rosenkavalier Kiri Te Kanawa, Anne Howells, Aage Haugland, Barbara Bonney.
Strauss, Richard. Salome Catherine Malfitano, Simon Estes, Horst Hiestermann, Leonie Rysanek, Clemens Bieber, Camille Capasso, Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin.
Strauss, Richard. Salome Maria Ewing (Salome); Michael Devlin (Jokanaan); Kenneth Riegel (Herod); Orchestra of the Royal Opera House; Edward Downes, conductor.
Strauss, Richard. Salome Teresa Stratas, Salome; Bernd Weikl, Jochanaan; Astrid Varnay, Herodias; Hans Beirer, Herodes; Vienna Philharmonic; Karl Böhm, conductor.
Stravinsky, Igor. Oedipus Rex Jessye Norman, soprano ; Philip Langridge, tenor ; Min Tanaka, Oedipus dancer ; Shinyu-Kai Chorus ; Tokyo Opera Singers ; Saito Kinen Festival Dancers ; Saito Kinen Orchestra ; Seiji Ozawa, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Eugene Onegin A. Shengelaya (Tatiana), V. Medvedev (Onegin), I. Ozerov (Lensky), S. Nemolyaeva (Olga), Ivan Petrov (Gremin) ; sung by G. Vishnevskaya, Y. Kibkalo, A. Grigoriev, L. Avdeyeva and Ivan Petrov.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Eugene Onegin Bernd Weikl, singer, Michal Dočolomanský, actor (Eugene Onegin) ; Teresa Kubiak, singer, Magdaléna Vášáryová, actor (Tatyana) ; Stuart Burrows, singer, Emil Horváth, actor (Cladimir Lensky) ; Julia Hamari, singer, Kamila Magálová, actor (Olga) ; Anna Reynolds, singer, Antonie Hegerlíková, actor (Madame Larina) ; Nicolai Ghiaurov, singer, Přemysl Kočí, actor (Prince Gremin) ; Enid Hartle, singer, Vlasta Fabiánová, actor (Filippyevna) ; supporting soloists ; John Alldis Choir ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Nutcracker Corps de Ballet de L'Opera de Paris ; Orchestre Nationale de LÒpera de Paris ; conducted by Michel Queval.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Nutcracker Marc Wenke (Scrooge), Joyce Cuoco (Clara Cratchit), Tero Julku (Nutcracker), Paul Boyd (Bob Cratchit/Devil), Anna Vita (Mrs. Cratchit/Spirit of Christmas) ; The Bonn Ballet ; Klassische Philharmonie Telekom Bonn ; Heribert Beissel, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Nutcracker (Shchelkunchik) Larissa Lezhnina, Masha and the Princess ; Victor Baranov, Nutcracker and the Prince ; Piotr Russanov, Drosselmayer ; Kirov Ballet ; Kirov Orchestra, Victor Fedotov, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Pique Dame Gegam Grigorian, Sergei Leiferkus, Alexander Gergalov, Vladimir Solodovnikov, Sergei Alexashin, Eugeni Boitsov, Gennadi Bezzubenkov, Nikolai Gassiev, Ludmil Filatova, Maria Gulegina, Olga Borodina, Evgenia Perlasova, Tatiana Filimonova, Elena Mirtova, chorus and orchestra of the Kirov Opera; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Queen of spades O. Strizhenov (Herman), sung by Z. Andzhaparidze ; O. Krasina (Liza), sung by T. Milashkina ; Ye. Polevitskaya (the Countess), sung by S. Preobrazhenskaya ; V. Kulik (Prince Eletsky), sung by Yevgeny Kibkalo ; V. Medvedev (Count Tomsky), sung by V. Nechipailo ; I. Gubanov-Gurzo (Paulina), sung by L. Avdeyeva ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Bolshoi Theater ; Yevgeny Svetlanov, conductor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich. Queen of spades Yuri Marusin, Herman ; Nancy Gustafson, Lisa ; Felicity Palmer, the Countess ; Sergei Leiferkus, Count Tomsky ; Dimitri Kharitonov, Prince Yeletsky ; the Glyndebourne Chorus ; David Angus, chorus master ; London Philharmonic ; Andrew Davis, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Aïda Aprile Millo ; Plácido Domingo ; Dolora Zajick ; Sherrill Milnes ; Paata Burchuladze ; Dimitri Kavrakos ; Metropolitan Opera Ballet ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Aïda Maria Chiara (Aïda) ; Ghena Dimitrova (Amneris) ; Luciano Pavarotti (Radames) ; Paata Burchuladze (King of Egypt) ; Nicolai Ghiaurov (Ramfis) ; Juan Pons (Amonasro) ; Ernesto Gavazzi (Messenger) ; Francesca Garbi (Priestess) ; Chorus and Orchestra of Teatro alla Scala, Milan ; Lorin Maazel, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Aïda Maria Chiara (Aida), Nicola Martinucci (Radames), Fiorenza Cossotto (Amneris), Giuseppe Scandola (Amonasro), chorus, orchestra and corps de ballet of the Arena di Verona.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Attila Samuel Ramey (Attila), Cheryl Studer (Odabella), Giorgio Zancanaro (Ezio), Kaludi Kaludov (Foresto), Ernesto Gavazzi (Uldino), Mario Luperi (Leone), orchestra and chorus of Teatro alla Scala.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Ballo in maschera Katia Ricciarelli, Judith Blegen, sopranos; Bianca Berini, mezzo-soprano; Luciano Pavarotti, tenor; Louis Quilico, baritone; other soloists; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus; Giuseppe Patanè, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Ballo in maschera Luciano Pavarotti ; Leo Nucci ; Aprile Millo ; Florence Quivar ; Harolyn Blackwell ; Gordon Hawkins ; Terry Cook ; Jeffrey Wells ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Don Carlo Daniela Dessì, soprano ; Luciana d'Intino, mezzo-soprano ; Luciano Pavarotti, tenor ; Paolo Coni, baritone ; Samuel Ramey, Alexander Anisimov, basses ; Orchestra e coro del Teatro alla Scala ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Don Carlo Ferruccio Furlanetto, José Carreras, Piero Cappuccilli, Matti Salminen, Franco de Grandis, Fiamma Izzo d'Amico, Agnes Baltsa; Chor der Bulgarischen Sofia; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor; Salzburger Konzertchor; Berliner Philharmoniker, Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Don Carlo Plácido Domingo, Mirella Freni, Grace Bumbry, Louis Quilico, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Ferruccio Furlanetto, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Ernani Luciano Pavarotti, Leona Mitchell, Sherrill Milnes, Jean Kraft, Ruggero Raimondi, Richard Vernon, Charles Anthony, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Metropolitan Opera Chorus, conductor, James Levine.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Ernani Placido Domingo, Mirella Freni, Renato Bruson, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Chorus and Orchestra of La Scala, Milan.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Falstaff Gabriel Bacquier, Falstaff; Richard Stilwell, Ford; Max-René Cosotti, Fenton; Karan Armstrong, Alice Ford; Jutta Renate Ihloff, Nannetta; Sylvia Lindenstrand, Meg Page; Marta Szirmay, Mrs. Quickly; Wiener Philharmoniker; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Falstaff Mirella Freni (Alice Ford), Barbara Bonney (Nannetta), sopranos ; Marilyn Horne (Mrs. Quickly), Susan Graham (Meg Page), mezzo-sopranos ; Paul Plishka (Falstaff), Bruno Pola (Ford), baritones ; other soloists ; Metropolitan Opera House Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera House Chorus (chorus master, Raymond Hughes), Metropolitan Opera House Ballet ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Falstaff Raina Kabaivanska (Alice Ford), Janet Perry (Nannetta), sopranos ; Christa Ludwig (Mrs. Quickly), Trudeliese Schmidt (Meg Page), mezzo-sopranos ; Giuseppe Taddei (Falstaff), Rolando Panerai (Ford), baritones ; other soloists ; Ballettschule Salzburger Landestheater ; Wiener Staatsopernballett ; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Falstaff Renato Bruson, Katia Ricciarelli, Leo Nucci, Barbara Hendricks, Dalmacio Gonzalez, Lucia Valentini-Terrani, Brenda Boozer.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Forza del destino Leontyne Price, Giuseppe Giacomini, Leo Nucci, Bonaldo Giaiotti.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Giovanni d'Arco Carlo VII, Vincenzo La Scola ; Giovanna, Susan Dunn ; Giacomo, Renato Bruson ; Delil, Pierre Lefebvre ; Talbot, Pietro Spagnoli ; Coro e Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna ; Riccardo Chailly, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Lombardi alla prima crociata José Carreras (Oronte) ; Ghena Dimitrova (Giselda) ; Carlo Bini (Arvino) ; Silvano Carroli (Pagano) ; Luisa Vannini (Viclinda) ; Luigi Roni (Pirro) ; Gianfranco Manganotti (Prior of the City of Milan) ; Giovanni Foiani (Acciano) ; Laura Bocca (Sofia) ; Chorus and Orchestra of La Scala, Milan ; Gianandrea Gavazzeni, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Luisa Miller June Anderson, Taro Ichihara, Edward Tumagian ; The Lyon Opera orchestra and chorus, The Montpellier Opera chorus, Maurizio Arena, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Macbeth Macbeth, Leo Nucci ; Banco, sung by Samuel Ramey, played by Johan Leysen ; Lady Macbeth, Shirley Verrett ; Macduff, sung by Veriano Luchetti, played by Philippe Volter ; Malcolm, Antonio Barasorda ; other soloists ; Orchestra e Coro del Teatro Comunale di Bologna ; Riccardo Chailly, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Macbeth Renato Bruson (Macbeth) ; Mara Zampieri (Lady Macbeth) ; James Morris (Banquo) ; Dennis O'Neill (Macduff) ; other soloists ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin ; Giuseppe Sinopoli, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Nabucco Renato Bruson, Ghena Dimitrova, Dimiter Petkov, and Ottavio Garaventa ; Chorus and orchestra of the Arena di Verona, conducted by Maurizio Arena.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Otello Jon Vickers, Otello; Mirella Freni, Desdemona; Peter Glossop, Jago; Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin; Berliner Philharmoniker; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Otello Placido Domingo, Kiri Te Kanawa, Sergei Leiferkus, The Royal Opera Chorus ; The orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Georg Solti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Otello Vladimir Atlantov (Otello) ; Kiri te Kanawa (Desdemona) ; Piero Cappuccilli (Iago) ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Arena di Verona ; Zoltan Pesko, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Otello (Franco Zeffirelli's) Placido Domingo, Katia Ricciarelli, Justino Diaz.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Rigoletto Ingvar Wixell, baritone (Rigoletto) ; Edita Gruberova, soprano (Gilda) ; Luciano Pavarotti, tenor (Duca di Mantova) ; Victoria Vergara, mezzo-soprano (Maddalena) ; Ferruccio Furlanetto, bass (Sparafucile) ; other soloists ; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor ; Wiener Philharmoniker ; Riccardo Chailly, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Rigoletto John Rawnsley (Rigoletto), Arthur Davies (Duke), John Tomlinson (Sparafucile), Marie McLaughlin (Gilda), Jean Rigby (Maddelena) ; English National Opera ; Mark Elder, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Simon Boccanegra Bruno Pola (Paolo Albiani) ; Hao Jiang Tian (Pietro) ; Vladimir Chernov (Simon Boccanegra) ; Robert Lloyd (Jacopo Fiesco) ; Kiri  Te Kanawa (Amelia Grimaldi [Maria Boccanegra]) ; Plácido Domingo (Gabriele Adorno) ; supporting soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Simon Boccanegra Kiri Te Kanawa, soprano ; Michael Sylvester, tenor ; Alexandru Agache, Alan Opie, Mark Beesley, baritones ; Roberto Scandiuzzi, bass ; supporting soloists ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Simon Boccanegra Sherrill Milnes ; Anna Tomowa-Sintow ; Vasile Moldoveanu ; Paul Plishka ; supporting soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra ; Metropolitan Opera Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Stiffelio Sharon Sweet, soprano ; Placido Domingo, tenor ; Vladimir Chernov, baritone ; Paul Plishka, bass ; supporting soloists ; Metropolitan Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Traviata Cast: Teresa Stratas, Placido Domingo, Cornell MacNiel, Alan Monk, Axelle Gall, Pina Cei, Ekaterina Maksimova, Vladimir Vassiljev ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus, conducted by James Levine.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Traviata Edita Gruberova (Violetta Valéry) ; Neil Shicoff (Alfredo Germont) ; Giorgio Zancanaro (Giorgio Germont) ; supporting soloists ; Gabrielle Brown (solo dancer) ; Dancers from the Balletto di Toscano ; Orchestra and Chorus of the Teatro La Fenice ; Carlo Rizzi, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Traviata Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; director, Terry Edwards ; conductor, Sir Georg Solti ; Angela Gheorghiu, Frank Lopardo, Leo Nucci.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Traviata Tiziana Fabbricini, Nicoletta Curiel, Antonella Trevisan, Roberto Alagna, Paolo Coni, Enrico Cossutta, Orazio Mori, Enzo Capuano, Francesco Musinu, Ernesto Gavazzi, Ernesto Panariello, Silvestro Sammaritano ; Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Trovatore Eva Marton, Dolora Zajick, Luciano Pavarotti, Sherrill Milnes; The Metropolitan Opera Chorus & Orchestra; James Levine, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Trovatore Fiorenza Cossotto (Azucena) ; Rosalind Plowright (Leonora) ; Franco Bonisolli (Manrico) ; Giorgio Zancanaro (Count di Luna) ; Paolo Washington (Ferrando) ; Giuliana Matteini (Inez) ; Giampaolo Corradi (Ruiz) ; Bruno Grella (An old gipsy) ; Bruno Balbo (messenger) ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Arena di Verona ; Reynald Giovaninetti, conductor.
Verdi, Giuseppe. Vespri siciliani Giorgio Zancanaro, Enzo Capuano, Francesco Musinu, Chris Merritt, Ferruccio Furlanetto, Cheryl Studer ; orchestra, chorus and ballet of Teatro alla Scala ; Riccardo Muti, conductor.
Vivaldi, Antonio. Orlando furioso Marilyn Horne, Susan Patterson, Kathleen Kuhlmann, Sandra Walker, Jeffrey Gall, William Matteuzzi, Kevin Langan.
Wagner, Richard. Fliegende Holländer Featuring Hildegard Behrens, Matti Salminen, Franz Grundheber ; Savonlinna Opera Festival Orchestra and Chorus conducted by Leif Segerstam.
Wagner, Richard. Fliegende Holländer Jaakko Ryhänen (Daland) ; Julia Varady (Senta) ; Peter Seiffert (Erik) ; Anny Schlemm (Mary) ; Ulrich Ress (Steuermann) ; Robert Hale (Holländer) ; Chor der Bayerischen Staatsoper ; Das Bayerischer Staatsorchester ; Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Fliegende Holländer Lisbeth Balslev; Anny Schlemm; Matti Salminen; Robert Schunk; Graham Clark; Simon Estes; Chor und Sonderchor der Bayreuther Festspiele; Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele; Woldemar Nelsson, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Golden ring: the making of Solti's Ring Birgit Nilsson ; Wolfgang Windgassen ; Gottlob Frick ; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau ; Claire Watson ; Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Götterdämmerung Hildegard Behrens, soprano ; Christa Ludwig, mezzo-soprano ; Siegfried Jerusalem, tenor ; Ekkehard Wlaschiha, baritone ; James Morris, bass-baritone ; Matti Salminen, bass ; other soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Götterdämmerung Manfred Jung, Siegfried ; Franz Mazura, Gunther ; Fritz Hübner, Hagan ; Hermann Becht, Alberich ; Gwyneth Jones, Brünnhilde ; Bayreuth Festival Orchestra ; Pierre Boulez, conductor ; Bayreuth Festival Chorus ; Norbert Balatsch, chorus master.
Wagner, Richard. Götterdämmerung Siegfried Jerusalem, Bodo Brinkmann, Philip Kang, Günter von Kannen, Anne Evans, Eva-Maria Bundschuh, Waltraud Meier, Birgitta Svendén, Linda Finnie, Uta Priew, Hilde Leidland, Annette Küttenbaum, Jane Turner ; Chor und Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Norbert Balatsch, chorus master ; Daniel Barenboim, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Lohengrin Cheryl Studer, Dunja Vejzovic, Placido Domingo, Hartmut Welker, Robert Lloyd, Georg Tichy ; Chorus and Orchestra of the Vienna State Opera ; Claudio Abbado, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Lohengrin Eva Marton, Leonie Rysanek, Peter Hofmann, Leif Roar, Anthony Raffell, John Macurdy, the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus, conductor, James Levine.
Wagner, Richard. Lohengrin (Werner Herzog's) Cheryl Studer, soprano (Elsa); Gabriele Schnaut, alto (Ortrud); Paul Frey, tenor (Lohengrin); Ekkehard Wlaschiha, baritone (Telramund); Manfred Schenk, bass (König Heinrich); other soloists; Orchestra and Chorus of the Bayreuth Festival; Peter Schneider, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Meistersinger von Nürnberg Siegfried Jerusalem, Walther von Stolzing; Bernd Weikl, Hans Sachs; Hermann Prey, Sixtus Beckmesser; Mari Anne Häggander, Eva; Graham Clark, David; Marga Schiml, Magdalene; Manfred Schenk, Veit Pogner; Chor der Bayreuther Festspiele; Ochester der Bayreuther Festspiele; Horst Stein, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Parsifal Bernd Weikl, Jan-Hendrik Rootering, Kurt Moll, Siegfried Jerusalem, Franz Mazura, Waltraud Meier, Metropolitan Opera Chorus, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, James Levine, conducting.
Wagner, Richard. Parsifal Parsifal, Poul Elming ; Amfortas, Falk Struckmann ; Gurnemanz, John Tomlinson ; Kundry, Waltraud Meier ; Klingsor, Günter von Kannen ; Titurel, Fritz Hübner ; Staatskapelle Berlin ; Daniel Barenboim, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Parsifal Siegfried Jerusalem (Parsifal) ; Bernd Weikl (Amfortas) ; Leif Roar (Klingsor) ; Eva Randová (Kundry) ; Matti Salminen (Titurel) ; Hans Sotin (Gurnemanz) ; Toni Krämer (1. Gralsritter) ; Heinz Klaus Ecker (2. Gralsritter) ; Marga Schiml (1. Knappe) ; Hanna Schwarz (2. Knappe, Eine Stimme) ; Helmut Pampuch (3. Knappe) ; Martin Egel (4. Knappe) ; supporting soloists ; Chor und Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Horst Stein, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Parsifal Singers, Wolfgang Schöne, Hans Tschammer, Reiner Goldberg, Yvonne Minton ; Conductor, Armin Jordan ; Prague Philharmonic Choir ; Monte Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra.;1\$aParts acted by, Armin Jordan, Martin Sperr, Robert Lloyd, Michael Kutter, Karen Krick, Aage Haugland, Edith Clever.
Wagner, Richard. Rheingold Donald McIntyre (Wotan) ; Martin Egel (Donner) ; Siegfried Jerusalem (Froh) ; Heinz Zednik (Loge) ; Hanna Schwarz (Fricka) ; Carmen Reppel (Freia) ; Ortrun Wenkel (Erda) ; Hermann Becht (Alberich) ; Helmut Pampuch (Mime) ; Matti Salminen (Fasolt) ; Fritz Hübner (Fafner) ; Norma Sharp (Woglinde) ; Ilse Gramatzki (Wellgunde) ; Marga Schiml (Flosshilde) ; Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Pierre Boulez, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Rheingold Thomas Stewart, Brigitte Fasbaender, Zoltan Kelemen, Peter Schreier, Gerhard Stolze ; Berliner Philharmoniker ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Rheingold Woton, James Morris ; Loge, Siegfried Jerusalem ; Alberich, Ekkehard Wlaschiha ; Mime, Heinz Zednik ; Falsolt, Jan-Hendrik Rootering ; Fafner, Matti Salminen ; Fricka, Christa Ludwig ; Freia, Mari Anne Häggander ; Erda, Birgita Svendén ; other soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Siegfried Manfred Jung, Siegfried ; Heinz Zednik, Mime ; Donald McIntyre, Wanderer ; Gwyneth Jones, Brünnhilde ; Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Pierre Boulez, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Siegfried Siegfried, Siegfried Jerusalem ; Mime, Heinz Zednik ; Der Wanderer, James Morris ; Alberich, Ekkehard Wlaschina ; father, Matti Salminen ; Erda, Birgitta Svenden ; Brünhilde, Hildegard Behrens ; Stimme des Waldvogels, Dawn Upshaw ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Tannhäuser Eva Marton, soprano; Tatiana Troyanos, mezzo-soprano; Richard Cassilly, tenor; Bernd Weikl, baritone; other soloists; Metropolitan Opera Chorus, Ballet and Orchestra; James Levine, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Tannhäuser Hans Sotlin, Richard Versalle, Wolfgang Brendel, Cheryl Studer, Ruthild Engert-Ely, Chor und Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele, Guiseppe Sinopoli, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Tannhäuser René Kollo, Jan-Hendrik Rootering, Bernd Weikl, Nadine Secunde, Waltraud Meier; Bavarian State Orchestra, conductor, Zubin Mehta; chorus and ballet of the Bayerische Staatsoper.
Wagner, Richard. Tannhäuser Spas Wenkoff, Gwyneth Jones, Bernd Weikl, Hans Sotin, Chor und Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele, Sir Colin Davis, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Tristan und Isolde René Kollo (Tristan) ; Matti Salminen (König Marke) ; Johanna Meier (Isolde) ; Hermann Becht (Kurwenal) ; Robert Schunk (Melot, Junger Seemann) ; Hanna Schwarz (Brangäne) ; Helmut Pampuch (Hirt) ; Martin Egel (Steuermann) ; Chor und Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Daniel Barenboim, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Walküre Hildegard Behrens, Jessye Norman, sopranos ; Christa Ludwig, mezzo-soprano ; Gary Lakes, tenor ; Kurt Moll, bass ; James Morris, bass-baritone ; other soloists ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus ; James Levine, conductor.
Wagner, Richard. Walküre Peter Hofmann (Siegmund) ; Matti Salminen (Hunding) ; Donald McIntyre (Wotan) ; Jeannine Altmeyer (Sieglinde) ; Gwyneth Jones (Brünnhilde) ; Hanna Schwarz (Fricka) ; Carmen Reppel (Gerhilde) ; Karen Middleton (Ortlinde) ; Gabriele Schnaut (Waltraute) ; Gwendolyn Killebrew (Schwertleite) ; Katie Clarke (Helmwige) ; Marga Schiml (Siegrune) ; Ilse Gramatzki (Grimgerde) ; Elisabeth Glauser (Rossweisse) ; Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele ; Pierre Boulez, conductor.
Zandonai, Riccardo. Francesca da Rimini Renata Scotto, Placido Domingo, Cornell MacNeil ; conductor, James Levine.