Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Music: Music Journal Articles

Guide to library materials for music research

Finding Music Journal Articles

Library databases are your gateway to materials outside the scope of our library catalog, especially journal articles. Sometimes the full text of an article is available directly through online databases. Other times, the database will only provide a citation (enough information to identify and locate the article elsewhere) or a citation and an abstract (a summary of the article). In those cases, you must use the Get It! button or search our Journals List to see if we own the journal or have electronic access to it. If we don't, you can request the article through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

Top 6 Humanities Databases

Top 3 Music Databases

Selected Journals in Ethnomusicology

African Music

from 01/01/1954 to 01/31/2010 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII 
from 06/01/2010 to present in Academic Search Complete

Asian Music

from 12/01/1968 to 07/31/2010 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III 
from 2005 to present in Project MUSE - Standard Collection

Black Music Research Journal

from 01/01/1980 to 12/31/2012 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III
from 2010 to present in Project MUSE - Standard Collection

British Journal of Ethnomusicology

from 01/01/1992 to 12/31/2003 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III

Ethnomusicology

from 12/01/1953 to present in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III

Ethnomusicology Forum (continues the British Journal of Ethnomusicology)

from 05/01/2004 to 18 months ago in Academic Search Complete 

World of Music

from 06/01/1957 to 01/31/2011 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI

Yearbook for Traditional Music

from 01/01/1981 to present in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III