Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

COVID 19 (novel coronavirus) Updates for Waidner-Spahr Library: Online Access to Books, Journals, Films, etc.

Changes to Waidner-Spahr Library services in response to the COVID 19 (novel coronavirus) will be posted here.

Online Access to Library Sources from Off Campus

Almost all online library resources can be accessed from off-campus by logging in using your Dickinson username and password. This includes e-books, e-journals, databases, and streamed films. 

Use links from the library website. Your locally saved bookmarks may not work from off campus.

SEE BELOW FOR DETAILS ON ACCESSING SPECIFIC TYPES OF ONLINE RESOURCES.  Also search our existing FAQ on the "Ask A Librarian" service page - that may answer many questions about online resource access not addressed in our COVID 19 guide. 

E-Journals, News Sources, Databases

Nothing has changed regarding access to e-journals, databases, online news sources available through the library.  These are almost all available from off-campus with your Dickinson login. 

Temporary Free Access

Some information providers have made resources freely available to their customers or the public in order to facilitate remote teaching and learning during COVID-19. The following items are known to be accessible to Dickinson users at this time.

Access to these resources is temporary.

E-books & Textbooks

BOOKS FOR ONLINE COURSES:  The Library already has multi-user access to several hundred thousand e-books.  We will attempt to fulfill requests for unlimited e-book versions of print books held by the library. 

If you are unable to access a library ebook required for course reading:

  • Look to see if there is another ebook link.  We may have an ebook on more than one vendor web platform
  • Wait at least 30 minutes and try again, the ebook may allow only one user at a time. 
  • Faculty - if you or your students have trouble accessing an assigned ebook, please notify your liaison librarian and we will see what we can do to increase access.

TEXTBOOKS - Faculty, please also refer to the "Library" section of the Teaching Continuity Moodle site for additional textbooks information.

VitalSource and RedShelf are working with many (but not all) publishers to provide free e-books for the remainder of the term.  Not all textbooks are available online through these programs (old editions, and most books published before 2015), and some of the smaller publishers are not participating. 

https://press.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps 

https://www.about.redshelf.com/redshelfresponds

INDIVIDUAL PUBLISHERS may have made their textbooks available free online during the emergency (e.g., Norton, Springer Nature, etc.)  Check publisher websites, and some of these are highlighted in the "Library" section of the faculty Teaching Continuity Moodle site.

OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES:  The Library has posted a guide to finding educational materials that are freely available to use, share, adapt, and reuse:   http://libguides.dickinson.edu/OER

Selected Open Access Journal & Book Collections

These collections are always freely available online without a paywall.  Additional open access collections are indicated on our Databases page with an open padlock icon Open Access Logo.

Streaming Films

Suggestions for faculty who want to use films in online courses:

  • Check for existing streaming access available in library collections. All are available to students from off-campus with Dickinson login. The films available in the collections are regularly updated by the vendors, so a film not available in the past might be available now:  https://www.dickinson.edu/info/20391/library/2519/find_films
  • Search the existing library collections for alternative available films that may still meet your educational objectives.  Your liaison librarian can help you search for alternatives:  https://dickinson.libanswers.com/
  • The library is putting no limits on use of Kanopy for courses and research through the end of Spring term.   Please do not use if for personal viewing to help us control costs.  There is overlap with what’s in our unlimited streaming packages (AVON, Films on Demand), so if you have particular films in mind please check those first. 
  • Consider commercial streaming access via Amazon, NetFlix, Hulu, etc.  Many have low-cost or free trial access accounts or low-cost or free introductory student accounts.  Ask your students what they have access to already. 
  • Faculty who cannot find a suitable film for a course in existing library collections may submit a request for a specific film through their liaison librarian.  Please supply film title (and English translation if applicable), director, and year.   Library staff will do our best to acquire the film.  Due to the COVID-19 emergency, we will attempt to provide streaming versions of films.