Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide contains downloadable screenshots from our tutorials so that you can browse the contents without having to take the tutorial. Please note that because these tutorials are animated, the printed slides are missing a lot of content, but they do contain the basic screens and the text of the narration.
If you have any questions about the tutorials, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Choosing a Database
The Waidner-Spahr Library provides more than 400 databases for research. All together, they contain millions of articles and other sources on innumerable topics. How do you choose the most relevant databases for your research?
Choosing Search Terms
As wonderful as library databases are, the results they give you depend on what you type into the search box. The better your choice of search terms, or keywords, the better your results. This tutorial will introduce you to several methods to help you develop better search terms for your research.
Distinguishing Among Source Types
When starting research for a paper or other project, it is important for you to be able to identify the types of sources you discover. Recognizing a source type will help you determine what kind of information you are likely to gain from the source, and how much time you will need to spend analyzing the source, relative to other types. This tutorial will teach you how to identify different types of sources.
In order to make a strong argument, you need to know how to choose relevant sources. This tutorial provides guidance for selecting the best source for a specific assignment or goal and explains how to evaluate a source based on some important attributes.
Finding a Journal Article From a Citation
Sometimes you may need to find a journal article when all you have is the article’s citation. This tutorial will help you get the full text of the article.
How to Renew Library Materials
This tutorial demonstrates how to renew library materials online using the library website.
How to Use the Get It Button
This tutorial will explain how to use the Get It! button to locate the full text of the article, if it is available at Dickinson library.