A-Z Databases

Access British pamphlets from the 19th century that cover key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the day. This collection supports the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th century Britain. Coverage: 19th century, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access meeting minutes, administrative records, publications, private correspondence, photographs, internal United States government memoranda, international archival documents, and more to illuminate the experiences of LGBTQ individuals. Materials come from major international activist organizations as well as local, grassroots groups. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: contains primary sources. A portion of this purchase was a gift of the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.

Provides context and solutions-oriented points of view related to race (including indigenous communities), ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. Topic essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines. Includes scholarly articles, government agency reports, materials from nonprofit organizations, primary source documents, and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience. Full-text.

Access high-resolution specimens and related materials from herbaria around the world. This collection contains reference works and primary sources such as collectors' correspondence and diaries, field notes, illustrations, and photographs, supporting teaching and research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Coverage: varies. Full text.

Access documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, "Japanese American Internment Collections," in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1933-1988, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access journals, books and research reports that explore the environmental, biological, social and cultural factors that can impact public health and health equity in society. Coverage: varies. Full text.

Access testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses during the 20 days of public hearings held by the U.S. Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians (CWRIC) in 1981. Witnesses include Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the subjects of the Commission's inquiry. Documents include personal stories of evacuees, publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. related to the hearings. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1981, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access archival records that provide insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. This collection supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1900s-2010s, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access transcriptions of interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1967-1973, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access archival records that chronicle the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. This collection includes pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1935-1950, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access trial records of the New York State Supreme Court, which include a full testimony of all witnesses, including the two who spoke in secrecy to hide their identities; preliminary motions, summations, the court's charge, the verdicts, and the sentences; and a confession made years after the trial by one of the men convicted. The guide contains an introduction and a listing of contents, including names of witnesses and the dates they testified. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1966, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access details of the Federal Government's plans to militarily intervene in the 1963 March on Washington (codenamed Operation "Steep Hill") in the event the march became disorderly. This collection includes army staff communications and memos, contingency plans from the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Military Operations, intelligence reports and estimates, congressional correspondence, press articles, and maps planning the route of the March and facilities needed. In addition, there is small quantity of records relating to the plans to intervene in Alabama in 1963 over the issue of school integration. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1963, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access records relating to President Eisenhower's use of Federal troops and the Arkansas National Guard in the Little Rock integration crisis of 1957-1958, from the planning for intervention prior to deployment, up to the withdrawal of troops at the end of the school year. Records include a journal of events, an Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations & Plans summary of the operation, a historical report prepared by the Office of the Chief of Military History, papers on Governor Faubus' actions with regard to integration, press reports and observations by Army officers on the reaction of the community, and congressional correspondence. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1957-1958, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access archival materials from across the globe on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1879 - 1998, contains primary sources. Full text.
Funded in part by the Paul Herbert Doney Memorial Fund.