Find the best library databases for your research topic.
Use the lists in the All Database Types drop-down menu to find primary sources including newspaper articles, images, videos, data, and historic collections. See our Primary Source Timeline to browse a selection of primary source databases organized by coverage dates and locations.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Provides context and solutions-oriented points of view related to race (including indigenous communities), ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. Topic essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines. Includes scholarly articles, government agency reports, materials from nonprofit organizations, primary source documents, and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience. Full-text.
Access high-resolution specimens and related materials from herbaria around the world. This collection contains reference works and primary sources such as collectors' correspondence and diaries, field notes, illustrations, and photographs, supporting teaching and research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Access documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, "Japanese American Internment Collections," in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1933-1988, contains primary sources. Full text.
Access journals, books and research reports that explore the environmental, biological, social and cultural factors that can impact public health and health equity in society. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Access transcriptions of interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1967-1973, contains primary sources. Full text.