GenEthx: Genetics and Ethics Database

Browse by

About this Collection

This collection contains 45,536 bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. It is a database created by the staff at the Bioethics Research Library.

The GenETHX citation database provides OpenURL and Digital Object Identifier (DOI) links to quickly search for publisher full-text access through Georgetown's online database subscriptions (or through your local research institution).

Citations in this collection are assigned subject keywords following the Bioethics Research Library English Classification Scheme and Bioethics Thesaurus Keywords.

You may leave feedback regarding this collection at the Bioethics Research Library's GenEthx: Genetics and Ethics Database page.

Browse All Items

Most Recent Submissions

Genetic counselor opinions of, and experiences with telephone communication of BRCA1/2 test results.

Bradbury, A R; Patrick-Miller, L; Fetzer, D; Egleston, B; Cummings, S A; Forman, A; Bealin, L; Peterson, C; Corbman, M; O'Connell, J; Daly, M B (2011-02)

BRCA1/2 test disclosure has, historically, been conducted in-person by genetics professionals. Given increasing demand for, and access to, genetic testing, interest in telephone and Internet genetic services, including ...
Effects of knowledge, education, and experience on acceptance of first trimester screening for chromosomal anomalies.

Stefansdottir, Vigdis; Skirton, Heather; Jonasson, Kristjan; Hardardottir, Hildur; Jonsson, Jon Johannes (2010-07)

OBJECTIVES: To assess pregnant women's knowledge and understanding of first trimester prenatal screening (nuchal translucency, maternal serum free beta-human chorionic gonadotrophin and pregnancy-associated plasma-protein-A), ...
BRCA1/2 test results impact risk management attitudes, intentions, and uptake.

O'Neill, Suzanne C; Valdimarsdottir, Heiddis B; Demarco, Tiffani A; Peshkin, Beth N; Graves, Kristi D; Brown, Karen; Hurley, Karen E; Isaacs, Claudine; Hecker, Sharon; Schwartz, Marc D (2010-12)

Women who receive positive or uninformative BRCA1/2 test results face a number of decisions about how to manage their cancer risk. The purpose of this study was to prospectively examine the effect of receiving a positive ...
Is the non-respect of ethical principles by health professionals during first-trimester sonographic Down syndrome screening damaging to patient autonomy?

Favre, R.; Guige, V.; Weingertner, A.-S.; Vayssière, C.; Kohler, M.; Nisand, I.; Hervé, C.; Moutel, G. (2009-07)

OBJECTIVES: To evaluate the understanding of health professionals involved in first-trimester ultrasound screening of the ethical stakes involved by addressing three questions regarding: how much these professionals know ...
Association between carrier screening and incidence of cystic fibrosis.

Castellani, Carlo; Picci, Luigi; Tamanini, Anna; Girardi, Paolo; Rizzotti, Paolo; Assael, Baroukh Maurice (2009-12-16)

CONTEXT: A downward trend in cystic fibrosis (CF) birth incidence has been reported in some areas. OBJECTIVE: To evaluate the association between carrier screening and CF birth incidence. DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS: ...