Reference Books
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by Call Number: REF QA47 .M315 2003ISBN: 1584882913Publication Date: 2003
Dictionary of Mathematics by Call Number: REF QA5 .D5 1999ISBN: 1579581579Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences by Call Number: REF QA21 .C645 1994ISBN: 0415037859Publication Date: 1994
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, A to Circular Probable Error by Call Number: REF QA276.14 .E5 1982ISBN: 0471055468Publication Date: 1982
Finding Books
The items listed on this page represent a selection of research materials for finding basic mathematics information. To find more materials, consult the library catalog or contact a librarian.
Use the search boxes below to search the library catalog. Jumpstart searches both the catalog and a large number of library databases, so is a great place to start your research.
For help deciphering library call numbers and locating books in the library, please see our tutorial on finding books in the Waidner-Spahr Library and the library map. Many books on mathematics are located in the Tome Science Reading Room.
- Library Catalog or JumpStart: Provide access to available collections in Dickinson library. Also allow users to use interlibrary loan service to request collections from other libraries. (Dickinson Catalog & Dickinson Database)
- WorldCat: A huge catalog of more than 140 million books and other materials in 71,000 member libraries worldwide. Very useful for discovering books that our library does not own that you can borrow via interlibrary loan (EZ-Borrow or ILLiad).
- Springer eBooks. Over 3,000 ebooks on SpringerLink cover various subjects of Computer Science.
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
JumpStart
WorldCat
Online Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of MathematicsThe Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community. The original articles are from the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers in 2002. With more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics, the Encyclopaedia of Mathematics was the most up-to-date graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics.
- Wolfram Math WorldAn Extensive mathematics encyclopedia from Wolfram Research, providing approximately 13,000 entries in Mathematics and the site is updated daily.
- Penguin Dictionary of MathematicsCovers from algebra to number theory, statistics to mechanics. It takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics.
- Princeton Companion to MathematicsThis is a one-of-a-kind reference for anyone with a serious interest in mathematics. Introduces basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; traces the development of modern mathematics; explain essential terms and concepts; examines core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describes the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; explores the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music- and much more.
