Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Linking to Library Resources: JumpStart

This guide covers how to link to search results, catalog records, e-books, and other electronic resources in the Library's collections.

Ask A Librarian

Permalinks in Jumpstart and other EBSCO Databases

The JumpStart interface is very similar to the interface of many EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Complete. The permalinking methods shown here should also work in those.

Page contents:

Permalink to a Single Item

You can access JumpStart permalinks while viewing either a individual Detailed Record, or a Full Text PDF within JumpStart.

Jumpstart Individual Detailed Record

With the Detailed Record on the screen,

  1. Click the bottom icon in the column to the right of the PDF window--it looks like two links in a chain. A box will open above the PDF showing the Permalink.
  2. Copy the Permalink from the field in the box.screenshot showing permalinks for JumpStart detailed record

Jumpstart Full Text PDF

With the PDF on the screen,

  1. Click the bottom icon in the column to the right of the PDF window--it looks like two links in a chain. A Permalink box will open above the PDF.
  2. Copy the Permalink from the field in the box.
  3. Note that the Permalink URL begins with "http://envoy.dickinson.edu/login?url=". This is the prefix of Dickinson's proxy server, which allows patrons to access licensed resources from off campus. For on-campus use, or for use within Moodle, this prefix is not necessary, but it does not need to be removed.

screenshot showing permalinks for JumpStart PDF

Result of Permalink to Jumpstart Record

Below is a screenshot of what you will see after visiting a Permalink to a JumpStart record.

The Permalink will not take you directly the full text of the document, only to the detailed record. If there is full text available, links to it will be in the column to the left of the item details.

screenshot showing location of full text links in JumpStart permalink result

Permalinks to Search Results in Jumpstart

With the set of search results on the screen,

  1. Click the Share link at the upper right, above the search results. A box with sharing options will drop down beneath the Share link.
  2. Copy the Permalink from the field at the bottom of the box.

Note that the Permalink URL begins with "http://envoy.dickinson.edu/login?url=". This is the prefix of Dickinson's proxy server, which allows patrons to access licensed resources from off campus. For on-campus use, or for use within Moodle, this prefix is not necessary, but it need not be removed.

Screenshot showing location of Share link and Permalink in JumpStart