Internet Resources
Always use caution when using Internet resources. Be sure to evaluate them for:
1. authority
2. bias
3. authenticity
You can find other high quality web sites using WorldCat, by limiting your search to "Internet Resources". The internet resources listed in WorldCat have been reviewed and chosen for their high level of quality. Click here for more tips on evaluating sources.
Below are some websites that we have evaluated for you:
Taxonomic Classification
- Systema Naturae 2000An up-to-date historical cross-referenced classification of life anywhere, anytime based on original authorative scientific literature.
- Animal Diversity WebAn online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
- Index to Organism NamesContains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Clarivate Analytics' Zoological Record® database.
Etymnology
- Words by William WhitakerA modest, student-size dictionary of 39,000 entries. This tool is to help in simple translations for a beginning Latin student or amateur.
- Oxford English DictionaryContains over 600,000 words.
- Merriam Webster DictionaryOnline resources including dictionaries and thesauruses.
- Latin Dictionary and Grammar AidDefines ~15,600 words.
Paleogeographic maps
- PALEOMAP ProjectFull-color paleogeographic maps showing the ancient mountain ranges and shorelines, active plate boundaries, and the extent of paleoclimatic belts.
Phylogeny/Stratigraphy
- Tree of LifeSource for biodiversity and Phylogeny
- History of Life Through TimeA survey of biodiversity through time, focusing on major lineages of organisms.
Additional Resources
- Dinosaur SocietyFocuses on encouraging everyone to learn about and enjoy the fascination of dinosaurs, and supporting the work of people engaged in forwarding the science of palaeontology.
- American Museum of Natural History's Division of PaleontologySeeks to describe the diversity of extinct invertebrates and vertebrates, and explore the mechanisms driving their evolution and extinction.
- The Paleontological SocietyAn international nonprofit organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology; invertebrate and vertebrate paleontology, micropaleontology, and paleobotany.
- Paleontologia ElectronicaWonderful full text, electronic journal. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1998)-
- Geoscience Resources on the Web'The Virtual Geosciences Professor' that provides geosciences resources.
- Smithsonian Institution's Department of PaleobiologyFocuses on increasing public and scientific understanding of the biological and environmental history of Earth through the study of fossil animals, plants, and protists.
- UC Berkeley's Museum of PaleontologyFocuses on investigating and promoting the understanding of the history of life and the diversity of the Earth’s biota through research and education.
