Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

German: German Web sites

This guide highlights the most important library resources for German Studies at Dickinson.

German web sites recommended by Dickinson College faculty and librarians

Deutscher Wortschatz

Die Daten werden aus sorgfältig ausgewählten öffentlich zugänglichen Quellen automatisch erhoben. Die Beispielsätze werden automatisch ausgewählt und stellen keine Meinungsäußerung des Projektes Deutscher Wortschatz dar. Für die darin enthaltenen Inhalte und Meinungen sind ausschließlich die Autoren verantwortlich.

dict.cc English German Dictionary

An online English-German dictionary to which every user can contribute by adding and verifying translations.

DWDS - Digitales Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache des 20. Jh.

An ongoing project of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, this is a digital dictionary of 20th and 21st century German language built upon a huge collection of digitized texts.

German language

Part of a meta site for web resources on selected languages. Created by Wayne Selcher, professor of international studies at Elizabethtown College.

German Language News and Magazines

MIT libraries Foreign Language News and Newspapers meta site

German Studies Web

"The German Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. If needed, annotations have been provided augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars. It contains contributions from German Studies bibliographers nationwide. The coordinator for the German Studies Web is Reinhart Sonnenburg (Dartmouth College)."

H-German

"A member of H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine, sponsored by the Michigan State University, H-German is a daily Internet discussion forum focused on scholarly topics in German history."

LeMO: Lebendiges virtuelles Museum Online

"Beim virtuellen Gang durch 150 Jahre Zeitgeschichte werden Informationstexte sowie Film- und Tondokumente mit den musealen Objektbeständen verknüpft und vermitteln so ein umfassendes Bild von Geschichte."

Leo

"Ein Online-Service der Informatik der Technischen Universität München. The LEO dictionary now contains over 400,000 entries."

ZDB: Zeitschriftendatenbank

A union catalog of German periodicals published from 1500 to the present, and held in 4,300 German libraries. About 1.2 million periodical titles with detailed information of what issues and years are held in which libraries. Now with links to free full-text journals. Note: this source does not index the articles in these periodicals.