Citing in Earth Sciences
The GSA citation style from the Geological Society of America is the primary citation style used in earth sciences at Dickinson.
Earth Sciences and Science Databases
If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journals List. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to.
Below, we have compiled a list of databases that are particularly relevant for earth sciences. Please click on the 
icon for more information about each database. Click here to access our tutorial on choosing a database.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowSearch for research in geology and earth sciences from around the world. Coverage: 1666 to present for North America, 1933 to present for global geology. Some full text.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowSearch peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and interoperable with GeoRef. Coverage: mostly 2000 to present. Some full text.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess articles covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess high-quality photojournalism and cartography, and in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment in this official journal of the National Geographic Society. Each page and photograph in this collection is fully searchable. Coverage: 1888-2015, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowExplore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
