Ebook collections
Credo Reference is a collection of online reference sources, while Ebrary Academic Complete contains ebooks on a wide variety of topics. Try searching for the suggested earth sciences keywords to the right.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess encyclopedic titles in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowExplore ebooks from scholarly publishers and university presses; they can be read online, and portions of each book may be downloaded permanently. Many titles may be accessed by multiple users at the same time, but some limitations apply. Entire e-books may be downloaded for 14 days to a computer or mobile device. No guest access: Dickinson login required. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Finding Books
The items listed on this page represent a selection of research materials for finding basic earth sciences information. To find more materials, consult the library catalog or contact a librarian.
Use the search boxes below to search the library catalog. Jumpstart searches both the catalog and a large number of library databases, so is a great place to start your research. Click here to access our tutorial on choosing search terms.
For help deciphering library call numbers and locating books in the library, please see our tutorial on finding books in the Waidner-Spahr Library and the library map.
Earth Sciences Keywords
- Geomorphology/Hydrogeology
- Historical Geology
- Minerals
- Sedimentology
- Paleontology
- Structural Geology
- Mineralogy/Petrology
- Volconology
- Paleontology
- Oceanography
- Climate change
- Hydrogeology
- Environmental Geology
- Geochemistry
Try these keywords when searching the library catalog and Jumpstart!
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
JumpStart
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science by Call Number: REF QE741 .E53 2007ISBN: 044451919XPublication Date: 2007- Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics byCall Number: REF QE601 .E53 1987ISBN: 0442281250Publication Date: 1987
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy by Call Number: REF QE5 .M3654 1997ISBN: 0070524327Publication Date: 1997
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs and Prehistoric Animals by Call Number: REF QE841 .I45 1999ISBN: 1840281529Publication Date: 1999
Latin Names Explained: A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals by Call Number: REF QL9 .G67 1996ISBN: 0816033773Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by Call Number: REF QE471.2 .E53 2003ISBN: 1402008724Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Earth Science by Call Number: REF QE5 .K85 2005ISBN: 0816049734Publication Date: 2005
